Sep 252015
 

Dixie Vixens GNDixie Vixens GN

-As if Quentin Tarantino wrote a comic that blended Django Unchained and Death Proof together!

-Discover the voices of some new comic creators for under $15!

-A trio of female college roommates head down South before graduation, but when their car breaks down they run afoul of the KKK.

-But these ladies ain’t going to take ignorant, bigotry lying down.  Somebody’s getting shot!

The Empty Man v.1 tpbEmpty Man

-If moody, tense cop dramas like The Following, Hannibal, and True Detective appeal to you, then check out The Empty Man.

-Written by Missouri’s own Cullen Bunn (Uncanny X-Men, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Sixth Gun, Sinestro).

-Multiple FBI agents attempt to discover the origins of a mysterious virus that leaves people hollowed out and dead.  All while a menacing death cult stalks them from the shadows.

-Also features gorgeous painterly artwork from rising star Vanesa Del Ray.

From Under MountainsFrom Under Mountains #1

-A spin-off series from the fantasy/Sci-Fi ongoing, 8House.

-Written by Marian Churchland, the artist of the first two issues of 8House Arclight.

-Issue one contains artwork by visionary creator Brandon Graham!

-Continues the stories of the various houses and families introduced in the main 8House series.

Godzilla in Hell #3Godzilla in Hell #3

-Local artist Buster Moody, who illustrated this issue, will be signing it at the store on the day of its release!

-Moody is a rising talent from Kansas City, so come support local creators and get a copy signed!

-The Godzilla in Hell miniseries has a been an intriguing artistic experiment, as every issue features a different artist telling a story of the infamous Kaiju descending further into hell.

-Joining Moody, Adam Smith and Matt Fox, two other local creators, will be signing their new original graphic novel, Long Walk to Valhalla.

Jun 062014
 

Night of the Living Deadpool tpbNight of the Living Deadpool tpb

-Cullen Bunn, whom some of you might have met back in May, continues his Deadpool vs. run of miniseries!

-Having fought the Marvel Universe, all of literature, and every alternate version of himself, Deadpool now faces off against a horde of zombies!

-Waking up from a chimichanga coma, Deadpool finds that the entire city has been overrun with the undead.

-As a cool stylistic choice, the entire comic is illustrated in black and white, except for Deadpool who is in color.

Blood Queen #1Blood Queen #1

-Fans of Grimm Fairy Tales should pay attention to the new Dynamite series, Blood Queen.

-Troy Brownfield, former writer of both GFT and GFT Myths and Legends, helms this dark fantasy series.

-In order to save the life of a young princess, a sorceress of great power is called upon by the kingdom to undertake a journey of epic proportions!

-Jay Anacelto, also of GFT, lends his gorgeous painterly artwork to the covers of this series!

Angry Birds Comics #1Angry Bird Comics #1

-You knew it had to happen.  Wheeeeeee!

-Current author of Aquaman, Jeff Parker, crafts this anthology series for IDW.

-Each issue features four unique short stories about the Angry Birds crew adventuring through various fantasy lands.

-A perfect starter comic for any young, prospective comic reader.

Empty Man #1 (of 6)Empty Man #1

-We began with Cullen Bunn tonight and now we end with his new BOOM! Studios miniseries.

-An unusual disease has swept the country causing people to devolve into a catatonic state and it is called the Empty Man disease.

-Two agents, one from the FBI and one from the CDC, have joined forces in an attempt to discover the source of the disease and, maybe, a cure.

-A dark, shadowy suspense series, Empty Man will satisfy for fans of Silence of the Lambs, 12 Monkeys, and The Following!

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

Sep 292012
 

Here it is September 2009 and…what? It’s not 2009? Oh, it’s 2012! So, you mean Daredevil End of Days by Brian Michael Bendis, David Mack, and Alex Maleev is only three years late? Okay. If there’s a series that’s worth the wait, it’s this one, folks. Writing an epic conclusion to the Man Without Fear, Brian Bendis writes this miniseries with the same level of grit, darkness, and swift wit that was present in his legendary Daredevil run. Set years in the future, this will be the official tale of Matt Murdock’s last days. Don’t end up being three years late to the party yourself.

When people ask you if a comic is good, you inherently want to say, “Hell yeah!” Lucking with Joe Keating’s Hell Yeah trade paperback I can and desire to say that very statement. Blending an Indy slice-of-life book with a dimension-jumping superhero actioneer, this book is bloody and artsy all at the same time. Think Kick-Ass on ecstasy, folks.

The only way to read the Walking Dead is to jam it into your eyeballs in massive quantities. Luckily, Image Comics publishes Walking Dead in compendium volumes, which basically breaks down to a crap ton of zombies! To be more specific, the Walking Dead volume two compendium collects trade paperback volumes 9-16. And don’t worry if you haven’t started the series yet, we’ve still got compendium volume one!

Around Gotham City there are many urban legends. Many dark tales that haunt the nightmares of criminals. You get to share in that dredd this Wednesday as Legends of the Dark Knight hits shelves. This miniseries will reprint previously web exclusive material written by talented writers and exceptional artists not usually connected to the character. For instance, the first issue features a story by LOST creator Damon Lindeloff and Animal Man author Jeff Lemire about Bruce Wayne’s early, over-confident days of being Batman. This series is going to be an excellent collection for anyone who wants to read the Dark Knight, but doesn’t want to pick up all the back issues.