May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

Aug 242013
 

Masks v.1 tpb

-The Shadow + Zorro + The Spider + Green Hornet + Kato = Best.  Crossover.  Ever!

-Alex Ross not only lends his unmatched artistic talents to the first issue, he also delivers on multiple covers for the series, too, all of which are included in this collection.

-These pulp heroes must unite to fight off the corrupt government of 1938 New York!

-The entire eight issue series, plus extras, is included in this single, oversized volume!

Young Avengers v.1 tpb

-All the fan favorite Young Avenger characters are back and filled with more adolescent angst than ever!

-Kieron Gillen brings the same pop infused vibrancy that made Phonogram the cult hit that it was!  The Young Avengers are officially teenagers now, and they party, drink, quarrel, and sleep around like everyone at that age.

-Jamie McKelvie, formerly of Phonogram, X-Men Season One, and Secret Avengers, makes this book sing, as far as artwork goes, pulling out expressive “performances” from all the characters.

-Oh, and for that extra bit of dissent, the reason all the characters get back together is due to the machinations of Kid Loki!  Fans of Gillen Journey into Mystery take note!

Itty Bitty Hellboy #1

-The masters of cute behind Tiny Titans and Superman Family Adventures jump companies to make Hellboy more adorable than ever!

-Anyone familiar with Art Balthazar and Franco’s Tiny Titans should expect the same comic-strip style of storytelling, perfect for younger audiences!

-Any parent who hopes to get their kids into Hellboy, but may be hesitant about the main book’s content can use Itty Bitty as an entry point.

-Did I mention the cuteness?

Guardians of the Galaxy v.1 HC

-Meet the entire cast of next year’s Marvel hit film, including Starlord, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, and Groot.

-Brian Michael Bendis (Uncanny X-Men, All-New X-Men) plays up the action and banter of the Guardians team with his witty writing style.

-Iron Man also joins the team early on, linking the Marvel interstellar universe with the main universe.

-Did I mention the raccoon with the nasty attitude and matching gigantic gun?

Nov 262011
 

Tonight we begin with you daily allotment of vitamin NS (Nick Spencer).

If you haven’t heard someone at the store discuss Morning Glories then you likely have filled your ears with concrete at some point.  Easily the most addictive mystery in comics right now, Morning Glories centers around a group of teenagers who are accepted into a seemingly docile academy, which reveals itself to be anything but.  The first two volumes of the book have been released as separate trade paperbacks, but if you haven’t picked them up yet, the new Morning Glories volume 1 hardcover is going to be the way to go.  Including both of the previous volumes, plus an abundance of extra material (covers, sketches, etc.), this is the ideal way to get accepted into Morning Glories Academy.

But wait, the doctor prescribes two doses of Nick Spencer a day!  In that effort, here’s the second “Must Get” Spencer trade for the week:  Thunder Agents volume 1.  Flying under the radar at DC before the New 52 relaunch, Thunder Agents is a refresh of a concept from the 70′s; a rather brilliant concept, at that.  Nearly a superhero version of the Suicide Squad, this team book is populated by normal individuals given the opportunity to wield superpowers and do “good deeds” for the government, but with the stipulation that the powers will slowly kill them.  Told through a Tarantino-esque, non-linear fashion, this book will keep you on your feet with narrative surprises at every turn.  And, another plus, the second volume begins in issue form the same day, so pick up the trade and then grab issue #1 of volume 2.

You’ve seen the movie.  You’ve watched the first episode of the new animated series.  Now it’s time to buy the first issue of the comic.  Branching off of the newest DC animated series, Green Lantern, the new Green Lantern: The Animated Series #0 drops this week.  Following in the fine fashion of previous animated adaptations (Young Justice, Batman: Brave & the Bold), this series will tell stories not told in the show, but starring the same characters and existing in the same universe.  Another check mark in the plus column comes from the talented writing team assigned to the book, Art Baltazar and Franco, who are the creative team behind the highly popular Tiny Titans series.

If you’re one of those unlucky folks who’s taunted and abused at school or work, I’m here to tell you those days are in the past.  How?  Why?  Because of what?

Two things.

Foremost, the new Walking Dead Lunchbox.  Why exactly does this metal display of Charlie Adlard’s gruesome artwork result in the elimination of your bullying?  Well, one, anybody who eats out of a zombie lunchbox has to be a little crazy and, two, when you fill it with Zombie Jerky, which you will tear apart with a ravenous hunger, no one will step foot anywhere near you for fear of cannibalistic maiming.

The second product to aid in your pain alleviation looks a little something like this.  Yup, that’s a foam version of Kratos‘ sword from the hit video game God of War.

Trust me, you come bursting into work or school swinging that bad boy wildly above your head, ain’t no person gonna think about calling you a Nancy boy no more.

Respect.

Sep 232011
 

If it’s Comic List Highlights and it’s Pulp Fiction, then it’s time for your New 52 Update.  In the New 52 Update we, the comicly nerdy, employees of Pulp Fiction tell you, the hungry for information, customers which DC Relaunch books ship this week with a one word description of each.  Last week of this, by the by.  DC decided to end with some wordy titles.  Fury of Firestorm, the Nuclear Man?  Really?

*All-Star Western – Howdy  *Aquaman – Seahorse

*Batman The Dark Knight – Gritty  *Blackhawks – Leather  *Flash – Speeding

*Fury of Firestorm, the Nuclear Man – Hothead

*Green Lantern New Guardians – Rayner  *I, Vampire – Non-sparkle

*Justice League Dark – Constantine  *Savage Hawkman – Mace

*Superman – Bachelor  *Teen Titans – GO!  *Voodoo – Hoodoo

Sure, sure, DC had its whole relaunch thing going on this month, but the real news is that Dennis Hopeless and Kevin Mellon’s long awaited Lovestruck graphic novel is finally shipping!  Some of you out there probably know that Dennis used to work at Pulp Fiction, back in the day, and Kevin has been a frequent customer since the paint was still drying.  Since that point, the two of them have refined their craft to a science and are steadily rising up the ranks at Marvel and Image, respectively.  If you want to be in on the ground floor of a book that will become a collector’s item in the future, in the same way that Five Fists of Science did, pay attention to Lovestruck.  What other book will you ever read that has a bunch of battling, punk cupids.  Oh, and the Ramones are literal gods in the book.

If debauchery and rock n’ roll isn’t your thing (or you don’t think your kids would cope well with all that insanity), then DC is there for you.  Launching a string of kid-friendly books in the vein of Tiny Titans (same artist, too), DC is covering all their bases this month.  This line of books is called DC Super-Pets and stars all the animal counterparts of DC‘s most popular heroes.  For instance, Powerful Pooches with Ace the Bathound and Krypto the Superdog.  Or Fastest Pet on Earth with Wonder Woman’s pet kangaroo.  If you’re trying to teach your child how to read, get them into comics, or to get something fun to read to them at bedtime, the DC Super-Pets books are a perfect option.

Ending with an oldie, but a greatie tonight.  Even though this collection has already been released a couple years ago in a hardcover edition, it’s such a milestone of comic writing and DC history that a softcover release of it (especially when the hardcover isn’t being printed anymore) is worth noting.  This hallowed book is known as the JLA by much respect writer Grant Morrison.  During Morrison’s JLA run, every one of the main seven characters (Aquaman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Flash, Martian Manhunter, and Superman) gets a defining moment and a clean, concise portrayal.  So, basically, what I’m saying here is that this is perfect starter book to learn about all the DC Big Guns.  Quite the fitting companion piece to all the relaunch books currently shipping.