Dec 182015
 

Harley Quinn Femme Fatales PVCHarley Quinn PVC Statue

-A last minute present option for all of those Harley Quinn fans out there!

-Features the costume and design created by Bruce Timm for Batman the Animated Series.

-The statue stands a full nine inches, depicting Harley standing on a defaced Bat-Signal.

-For those who are about pristine quality, the statue comes packaged in a full-art window box.

Last Gang in Town #1 (of 7)Last Gang in Town

-Famed Vertigo author, Simon Oliver, returns to the imprint to launch a new miniseries!

-Oliver previously found success with The Exterminators and, more recently, Federal Bureau of Physics.

-Punk to the core, Last Gang in Town will follow a single London crime organization through various decades.

-Issue one begins in the 1970s as the titular gang attempts to pull off the heist of the century.

Marceline Gone Adrift Adventure Time tpbAdventure Time Marceline Gone Adrift tpb

-A companion series to the Marceline and the Scream Queens miniseries!

-Re-teams the writer and artist from that previous miniseries, Meredith Gran and Carey Pietsch, both of which are veterans of the Adventure Time comic universe!

-Marceline is rampaging around the World of Ooo for mysterious reasons, causing Princess Bubblegum to inadvertently transport her into space without her powers.  In an effort to make it up to her, Bubblegum ventures into space to find Marceline.

-Published by Boom Box!, this miniseries features gorgeous, vibrant artwork, a staple of the company.

Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat #1Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat

-You got to know her on the Jessica Jones Netflix series, now read about her in the Marvel Universe.

-Patsy’s overcome a mountain of obstacles in her time, but nothing compared to the combination of increased media attention while looking for a new job in The Big Apple!

-Fans of Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Ms. Marvel, Hawkeye, and She-Hulk are (almost) legally obligated to pick up issue #1.

-Popular independent writer, Kate Leth (Bravest Warriors, Fionna and Cake, Power Up!) makes her ongoing Marvel debut!

Dec 122014
 

Avengers Now #1Avengers Now

-A good old fashioned Marvel Universe Handbook!

-Includes entries on all of the major Avengers characters from the recent relaunch.

-Angela, Sam Wilson’s Captain America, Thor (female), Phil Coulson, and many more are detailed!

-Perfect for younger readers looking to get into Marvel Comics.

Rocket Salvage #1Rocket Salvage #1

-BOOM! Studios continues to dominate the children’s comic market with original content.

-Hot on the heels of Adventure Time, Lumberjanes, Teen Dog, and Bravest Warriors, Rocket Salvage is also bright, colorful, and creative!

-An ex-space racer returns to his glory when he has to enlist his two twin, clone children to assist him in crisscrossing the galaxy to find an ancient artifact!

-Think Guardians of the Galaxy mixed with The Goonies.

Rumble #1Rumble #1

-This book looks bonkers!  To quote the solicits: “It’s Louis C.K. meets Robert E. Howard in a David Fincher universe.”

-A young, nobody gets tangled up in a universal battle between scarecrow gods, mummies, and other mystical forces, all while dealing with his ex-girlfriend and skinhead, loser buddy.

-John Arcudi, the book’s author, is a comic book veteran, having spent years crafting the supporting characters of Mike Mignola’s Hellboy universe.

-Another among the onslaught of varied, interesting Image Comics releases!

Zatanna Bombshells StatueZatanna Bombshells Statue

-If DC has found a cash cow this year, it is the Bombshell designs of their characters!

-Ant Lucia, the artist behind the Bombshell covers from July, has had his already iconic illustrations turned into special series of statues from DC Direct.

-Based off of pin-up artwork, these statues are full body pieces that come complete with a specially designed base.

-And Zatanna is not alone in her Bombshell presentation, as poor John Constantine has been transformed into a fluffy bunny by her powerful magic.

Nov 272013
 

While you may have gorged yourself on the requisite Thanksgiving feast, we hope you saved room for a special Black Friday follow-up meal, starting at 10am on Friday:

1. Forget canned, the several “doorbuster” items (specially marked down at half or lower price) are all natural.

2. Make sure to slather your half off on t-shirts and plush toys with gravy (pouring gravy on your new Black Friday purchases is not actually endorsed by Pulp Fiction).

3. Like those crispy onion strings on top of the green bean casserole, comic back issues in the back-issue bins will be buy-one-get-one-free.*

4. Don’t worry about deciding who gets to carve the Black Friday main course, everyone will get a piece of the buy-one-full-price-get-one-half-price offer for most of the rest of the store.**

Fine Print:
Discounts and specials don’t combine. Discounts and specials don’t apply to current comic issues, snack & drinks, or items priced less than a dollar.

*Free item applies to the lower priced item.
**Half-price applies to the lower priced item.

Nov 162013
 

Batman Black and White Statue by Greg Capullo

-Match the Joe’s Garage Joker statue from last week with his equal and opposite number.

-Capullo’s stylish pencils are brought to life in this accurate statue.

-Most recent in the popular line of Batman Black and White statues, Capullo’s is equally suited to the monochromatic coloration as all the rest.

-Just a reminder, there’s nothing anyone loves more than a Dark Knight for the holidays.

Nowhere Men v.1 tpb

-Science is the new Rock’n'Roll!

-Collects the first six issue miniseries from Image Comics, a miniseries that was so popular Image kicked it up to an ongoing!

-In a world where The Beatles were replaced by a scientific supergroup, Nowhere Men explores what happens in a highly technologically evolved society when everything goes wrong.

-Nate Bellegarde and Jordie Bellaire’s striking pop art aesthetic turns this book into a punk rock comic of the modern age!

X-Men by Brian Wood v.1 tpb

-Experienced comic veteran, Brian Wood (DMZ, Local, Mara, The Massive, Ultimate Comics X-Men), brings his strong character-driven style to the X-Men universe.

-Finally, a book for female comic readers!  Disregard the title, this team is entirely comprised of strong, sympathetic women mutants.

-Olivier Coipel (House of M, Avengers vs. X-Men, The Mighty Thor) lends his kinetic style to every thrilling action scene in the series, making this one of the most action packed X-Men series in recent years.

-When Jubilee brings an orphaned baby back to the Jean Grey School, a baby wanted by some very bad people, what sort of tough decisions will Rogue, Psylocke, Storm, and the rest of the team have to make?

Harley Quinn #0

-Everyone’s favorite psychopathic psychologist returns to helm her own ongoing series!

-The husband/wife writing duo of Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Conner, masters of pure fun comic storytelling, promise to bring Harley back to her former glory!

-This introductory zero issue features tons of different (famous) artists as Harley holds auditions to find out who should draw her comic.

-A sure fire DC hit, Harley Quinn’s series will be comprised of one shot stories of pure insanity and cuteness as she joins a roller derby, hunts for kittens, and looks for the perfect Valentine’s Day gift for Mr. J.

Jan 122013
 

Before the whole brain-swapping shenanigans of Amazing Spider-Man #698-700, there was a character named Alpha.  A young, pompous teen granted exceptional powers (ringing any bells) decides to use his powers not to help people, but to gain stardom.  Peter Parker (RIP) eventually managed to reverse the accident that gave Alpha his abilities, leaving him disgraced and embarrassed.  Alpha Big Time picks up where that storyline left off, with Alpha attending high school far from New York.  Written by Joshua Hale Fialkov (Doctor Who), this series deals with what happens when your fifteen minutes of fame are up and all you’re left with is a gasping desire to reclaim it.

Don’t you hate it when, after a hard night of drinking, you wake up in the savage land only to be attacked by a velociraptor?

Wolverine does.

Frank Cho’s Savage Wolverine #1 launches this week and features his talents on both writing and art duties.  As alluded to, the first story arc is going to revolve around Logan finding himself in the Savage Land, surrounded at every turn by enemies, and with no clue how he got there or why everyone is so angry.  Luckily, he has Shanna the She-Devil (come on, did you think Cho wasn’t going to stick a bikini-clad hottie into the book?) on his side for support.  Or, in simpler terms, it’s Wolverine versus dinosaurs.  The word you’re looking for is SNIKT!

Once more into the breach, dear friends.

Such is DC‘s thinking with their newest space anthology series, Threshold #1, launching this Wednesday.  Starring mostly Green Lantern universe characters, the series will span the galaxy of the DC universe, telling rip-roaring sci-fi pulp adventures with some of your favorite cosmic characters.  Each issue will also feature a backup story with everyone’s favorite greedy lantern, Larfleeze, who must find a way to reclaim all of his beloved stuff after it has been stolen from him.  A new addition to the Green Lantern CORPS is also introduced in the series, one who’s been disgracefully stripped of his ring and sent to compete in a game show where you have to run for your life.  And if that isn’t enough, Threshold will be the venue in which the former Captain Karrot is reborn as a gritty space pirating bunny called Captain K’Rot.

And finally, your moment of Deadpool statue for the night.

Enjoy.