Sep 112015

Agent Carter Shield 50th AnniversaryAgent Carter Shield 50th Anniversary #1

-If you loved the Agent Carter television miniseries, check out this one shot!

-Another issue celebrating the 50th anniversary of Shield‘s appearance in the Marvel Universe.

-The team behind Operation S.I.N. (the previous Agent Carter miniseries), Kathryn Immonen (Patsy Walker Hellcat,  Journey into Mystery) and Rich Ellis, return!

-Return to the forties, as Dum Dum Dugan attempts to recruit Peggy Carter to Shield.

Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum #1 Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum

-In the vein of Buck Rogers or Flash Gordon, Jonas Quantum is an old school science adventurer with a little superhero genre thrown in.

-Local artist Freddie Williams III (JSA All-Stars, Robin, Legendary Star-Lord, The Movement) provides interior illustrations for this series!

-Producer and writer of Arrow and veteran comic author, Marc Guggenheim, helms the series.

-Jonas Quantum can cure death, travel through time, and invent all day long.  However, he is not a team player.  And he’s going to need help when outrunning an galactic assassin hired to kill him.

Captain America White #1Captain America White #1 (of 5)

-Over six years in the making, the long awaited Captain America White is finally here!

-Written by Jeph Loeb and illustrated by Tim Sale, the team behind Batman The Long Halloween, Spider-Man Blue, Hulk Grey, Daredevil Yellow, and Catwoman: When in Rome.

-Like the previous Marvel “color” series mentioned above, Captain America White will see Loeb and Sale reinterpret early Captain America stories, modernizing them for contemporary readers.

-Issue one will also include the complete issue zero originally published in 2008!

Tokyo Ghost #1Tokyo Ghost

-Rick Remender, prolific author of Black Science, Low, Deadly Class, Captain America, Axis, and much more, launches a new ongoing series from Image Comics.

-Remender is joined by popular artist, Sean Murphy, who has recently brought you The Wake, Chrononauts, Punk Rock Jesus, and Joe the Barbarian!

-Set in the far future, two techno-organic detectives enforce the requests of gangsters in the cyberpunk future Los Angeles.

-Forced to venture into the last bastion of non-technology in the world, The Gardens of Tokyo, the protagonists have to lose all of their cybernetic enhancements.

Aug 242013

Masks v.1 tpb

-The Shadow + Zorro + The Spider + Green Hornet + Kato = Best.  Crossover.  Ever!

-Alex Ross not only lends his unmatched artistic talents to the first issue, he also delivers on multiple covers for the series, too, all of which are included in this collection.

-These pulp heroes must unite to fight off the corrupt government of 1938 New York!

-The entire eight issue series, plus extras, is included in this single, oversized volume!

Young Avengers v.1 tpb

-All the fan favorite Young Avenger characters are back and filled with more adolescent angst than ever!

-Kieron Gillen brings the same pop infused vibrancy that made Phonogram the cult hit that it was!  The Young Avengers are officially teenagers now, and they party, drink, quarrel, and sleep around like everyone at that age.

-Jamie McKelvie, formerly of Phonogram, X-Men Season One, and Secret Avengers, makes this book sing, as far as artwork goes, pulling out expressive “performances” from all the characters.

-Oh, and for that extra bit of dissent, the reason all the characters get back together is due to the machinations of Kid Loki!  Fans of Gillen Journey into Mystery take note!

Itty Bitty Hellboy #1

-The masters of cute behind Tiny Titans and Superman Family Adventures jump companies to make Hellboy more adorable than ever!

-Anyone familiar with Art Balthazar and Franco’s Tiny Titans should expect the same comic-strip style of storytelling, perfect for younger audiences!

-Any parent who hopes to get their kids into Hellboy, but may be hesitant about the main book’s content can use Itty Bitty as an entry point.

-Did I mention the cuteness?

Guardians of the Galaxy v.1 HC

-Meet the entire cast of next year’s Marvel hit film, including Starlord, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, and Groot.

-Brian Michael Bendis (Uncanny X-Men, All-New X-Men) plays up the action and banter of the Guardians team with his witty writing style.

-Iron Man also joins the team early on, linking the Marvel interstellar universe with the main universe.

-Did I mention the raccoon with the nasty attitude and matching gigantic gun?

Feb 232013

Hey, everyone, come on, grab your friends!  We’ll go to very distant lands!

Jake and Finn have stopped playing with BMO and are back for a second round of Adventure Time trade paperback mathematics!  Adventure Time volume two collects issues five through nine of the series that’s sweeter than Peppermint Butler.  Within these flippin’ sweet pages are stories of Finn and Jake turning into robots, traveling in Princess Bubblegum’s time machine, and laying some smack down on the Ice King.  Make your kids (or, hell, yourself) happy and pick it up!

Liches and zombies need not apply.

Scott Snyder just finished what is sure to become a classic Joker story in the main Batman series, but, before he made a name for himself, Snyder wrote one of the creepiest runs of Detective Comics ever.  Set during the period of time where Dick Grayson was Batman, this extended run has an entirely different tone from other Batman books as Grayson is all about the sarcasm and acrobatics, both brought to life by Jock’s expressive pencils.  Faced with a complicated murder mystery to solve, Grayson must team-up with Commissioner Gordon to crack the case.  Not only do Gordon and Grayson share sleuthing duties, but the story is also evenly split between them.  Gordon must deal with the arrival of his prodigal son, James, Jr., who may or may not be entirely sane.  Snyder is incredibly dept at pacing horror and suspense on the page, a talent uses handily during many of Gordon and James, Jr.’s scenes together.  Just remember to watch out for that water running under the bathroom door.

One thing you will certainly not find in Image Comics Five Weapons miniseries is a sorting hat.

That just makes it all the more important to choose wisely when you’re enrolling in The School of Five Weapons, because the weapon you choose will define the rest of your life.  Knives, staves, archery, exotics, and guns may be deadly, but they have nothing on the brain of Tyler, the most recent arrival to the premiere assassin school.  Join Jimmie Robinson (Bomb Queen), handling both art and writing duties, as he leads you through the halls of the deadliest high school in the country.  

Just don’t call it Harry Potter with guns.

Talking raccoons make every comic better.

Brian Michael Bendis got to sample the Guardians of the Galaxy in his recent run on Avengers Assemble, but now he launches deep into the stars with the beginning of another ongoing Guardians of the Galaxy series.  The first point one issue details the origins of Starlord, the boy from Earth who grows-up to lead the meanest bunch of space police in the universe.  With crisp, detailed artwork from Steve McNiven (Civil War), the addition of Iron Man, and the eminent Marvel Studios film adaptation the only reason to skip this book is if you’re off planet.