Jan 092015
 

Adventure Time Marceline Gone AdriftAdventure Time Marceline Gone Adrift #1

-She is the vampire queen of Ooo and she has been launched into space by her former best friend, Princess Bubblegum!

-Following up the popular Marceline and the Scream Queens miniseries, this miniseries also weird, deep mythology of the cartoon.

-Meredith Gran, who also wrote Scream Queens, returns to pen this story!

-Finn and Jake are alright, but, let’s be honest, Marceline is everyone’s favorite.

Boom Box Mix Tape #1Boom Box Mix Tape 2014

-Boom Studios has earned a reputation as the publisher of quirky, colorful artistry and this first Mix Tape showcases that.

-An oversized issue, the Boom Box Mix Tape features short stories from a number of Boom‘s most popular comics.

-Included within this hefty issue are stories from Lumberjanes, Teen Dog, The Midas Flesh, and Cyanide & Happiness!

-In addition, this issue will feature the first Munchkin comic book story by John Kovalic, leading up to the new Munchkin ongoing series!

Conan Red SonjaConan Red Sonja #1

-Fan favorite writers Gail Simone (Batgirl, Secret Six, Red Sonja) and Jim Zub (Wayward, Skullkickers) join forces to join the forces of Red Sonja and Conan!

-The two warriors combine their battle-hardened skills in order to track down and defeat a mad sorcerer before he unleashes a world ending war.

-Not a traditionally linear story, Conan/Red Sonja sees the two heroes jump through various ages and time periods!

-Given that both of these authors have received accolades for their work on these or similar characters, this storyline should prove fun and excited.

Star Wars #1Star Wars #1

-After many years, the Star Wars license is back where it started:  Marvel Comics!

-The beginning of a new ongoing series, Star Wars #1 is written by Kansas City resident, Jason Aaron (Thor, Ghost Rider, Southern Bastards, Men of Wrath) and drawn by John Cassaday (Uncanny Avengers, Astonishing X-Men, Captain America).

-The series will take place between the events of A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, as the rebellion begins to rise up against the Empire.

-If you want variant covers, this book gives you variant covers!  Pulp will have a whopping eleven different covers, including a gorgeous painted variant by Alex Ross!

Oct 172014
 

TMNT Ghostbusters #1Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles / Ghostbusters #1 (of 4)

-Who you going to call?  Heroes in a half-shell!

-With the ongoing Ghostbusters series recently wrapping up, the writer, Erik Burnham, authors this epic crossover.

-Along with Burnham, Dan Schoening, the vibrant, fun artist of the previous Ghostbuster series, also joins in.

-How will the Ghostbusters and Turtles react to each other when the latter is transported into another dimension?  Will they be able to defeat the terrifying ghost that followed them?

D&D Legends of Baldur’s Gate #1Legends of Baldur's Gate Dungeons Dragons D&D

-IDW continues its tradition of publishing quality roleplaying game tie-in comics with this new Dungeons & Dragons series.

-Jim Zub, writer of the Pathfinder comic series, Skullkickers, and Wayward, helms this epic ongoing!

-Decades after the original Baldur’s Gate adventure, a new party of adventurers brave the infamous city!

-MINSC also joins the fray!

Deathstroke #1Deathstroke #1

-Originally launched at the start of the New 52, another ongoing Deathstroke series attempts to do what the previous series couldn’t!

-In it’s favor are the artistic and writing talents of Tony Daniel (Detective Comics, Superman/Wonder Woman), handling both duties on this title.

-Slade Wilson, the legendary assassin known as Deathstroke, has had his memories of a particular kill erased.  With only fragments, Deathstroke must retrace his steps and find out who took his memory.

-If you loved him or loved to hate him on Arrow, check out this new ongoing series.

Arkham Manor #1Arkham Manor

-Spins out of the events chronicled in Batman Eternal!

-With Arkham Asylum destroyed, Bruce Wayne is forced to provide his estate as a temporary holding facility for all of Gotham’s psychopaths.

-In order to solve a string of mysterious murders, Batman must go undercover in the new Arkham Manor.  Will he go insane trying to solve the case?

-Written by Gerry Duggan (Deadpool, Hulk, Nova), who just delivered a great, creepy one-shot story in the pages of Batman #34.

May 162014
 

Pathfinder City of Secrets #1Pathfinder City of Secrets #1 (of 6)

-Jim Zub, writer of fantasy series like Skullkickers and the previous Pathfinder series, returns to GM this miniseries.

-An entirely new Pathfinder series, City of Secrets is a fresh entry point for new readers!

-The party ventures into Magnimar, a magical city that threatens to tear the group apart!

-As with the previous series, each issue will contain a unique, playable Pathfinder encounter and foldout map.

The Movement v.1 tpb The Movement v.1 tpb

-Gail Simone’s most recent DC Comics series gains its first eight issue trade paperback, featuring an ensemble of original characters created by Simone herself!

-In Coral City, the police are out of control, harming citizens more than helping.  The Movement is out to change that.

-Local artist Freddie E. Williams III joins Simone, delivering a kinetic, action-packed artistry to the series!

-Finishing last week with issue #12, The Movement v.1 acts as the first half of a complete story that introduces exciting new characters to the DC Universe.

MPH #1MPH #1

-Mark Millar expands his control on the world of comics a little further with this ongoing series!

-Millar brings the same cynical grimness and dark humor he did with Kick-Ass, Superior, and Wanted to this Image comic!

-What happens when a gang of inner city teens discover a drug called MPH that grants them super speed?  $#*! gonna get F’ed up!

-Drawing a fine line between hero and criminal, the teens of MPH explore the how with great power, creates great corruptibility.

Black Canary and Zatanna Bloodspell HCBlack Canary and Zatanna Blood Spell HC

-Paul Dini, creator of Batman:  The Animated Series, returns to comics for this original graphic novel!

-In the works for over three years, Bloodspell is a long awaited team-up book featuring the pre-New 52 Black Canary and Zatanna.

-The incredible Joe Quinones, of FF, Captain Marvel, and The Spectacular Spider-Man fame, illustrates the entire graphic novel in his distinct, cartoony style!

-A year after infiltrating a cult of female magicians, Black Canary is haunted by their ghosts, a threat that requires the assistance of her close friend Zatanna.

Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Oct 192013
 

Samurai Jack #1

-Gendy Tartakovsky’s lone sword-swinging, silent hero, Jack, returns thanks to IDW!

-Picking up after the open ending of the cartoon series, the first five issues will deal with the Jack searching for the mystical “Rope of Eons”, rumored to be capable of taking him home.

-Written by Jim Zub, who’s been killing it on the darkly humorous, Skullkickers, this series will be brimming with the stylistic action the original cartoon was known for.

-And don’t worry about the comic diverging from the look of the show, because Andy Suriano, one of the artists responsible for the original character design, lends his pencils to the comic.

Marvel NOW What? #1

-Marvel has always had a long tradition of publishing satirical takes on their own characters, with the newest being Marvel NOW What?

-And it’s no slouches on writing duties, with a slew of notable comedy television writers crafting humorous takes on Marvel‘s most famous characters.

-Joining them on art duties are a ton of notably quirky artists, like Steve Lieber (Superior Foes of Spider-Man) and Colleen Coover.

-Plus, you get a Skottie Young cover without having to pick up a variant!

Velvet #1

-Ed Brubaker gets back into the game with Velvet #1 from Image Comics.

-Having written one of the most definitive runs on Captain America ever (including the Winter Soldier story that the next movie will be base off of), Brubaker brings his espionage know-how to this spy story.

-Velvet Templeton thought she was out, but that’s exactly when you always get pulled back in.  With her boss dead and twenty years away from the field, Velvet must jump back into the fray for another adventure.

-Joining Brubaker on art duties is his long time partner Steve Epting, who’s penciled more comic books than you’ve read in your life.  Seriously, this guy’s been around.

Pretty Deadly #1

-Hot on the tail of the sci-fi western, East of West, is the surreal revenge tale, Pretty Deadly, from Image Comics.

-Kelly Sue Deconnick, writer of Ghost and Captain Marvel, joins with her artistic soulmate, Emma Rios, for this entirely unique comic series about the daughter of Death himself.

-Expect the brutality of series like Saga and Preacher combined with the fantastical fantasy of Fables and Sweet Tooth.

-And, hey, above anything else, be thankful we live in a day where two female comic creators can launch a weird Western comic and have it be anticipated!