Jul 182014
 

Storm #1Storm #1

-Greg Pak, writer of Batman/Superman and Planet Hulk, jumps back to Marvel for this ongoing series.

-Acting as an ambassador for the mutant race, Storm will travel the globe encountering and overcoming evil and oppression as she goes.

-Each issue will feature a one-and-done story, each building to a larger arc.

-Victor Ibanez, a veteran of Wonder Woman, Zatanna, Swamp Thing, and Robin, joins Pak as artist on the series.

Doctor Who 10th & 11th #1 (Titan Comics)Doctor Who #1 10th 11th Titan

-August sees the return of The Doctor with the beginning of Peter Capaldi’s era, but, before that, 10 and 11 are back in the TARDIS.

-Titan Comics now owns the rights to the Doctor Who comics and begins their legacy with a dual launch of two ongoing series, one featuring David Tennant’s 10th Doctor, the other Matt Smith’s 11th Doctor.

-In the 10th Doctor series, The Doctor discovers a new companion during the Day of the Dead.

-Taking place right after the end of season five, the 11th Doctor series is written by Al Ewing, author of some great current Marvel series, including Mighty Avengers and Loki, Agent of Asgard.

Supreme Blue Rose #1Supreme Blue Rose #1

-Warren Ellis, author of Trees, Moon Knight, and Transmetropolitan, launches another new Image Comics series!

-Re-imaging a character created by Alan Moore, Ellis remakes Supreme, a Superman analog, for a new age.

-Ellis is joined by Tula Lotay, an up-and-coming artist, whose painterly, water colored style

-Underneath the surface of reality lies a secret organization that controls the parameters of the world.  They will stop at nothing to find Ethan Crane.

Avengers 100th Anniversary #1Avengers 100th Anniversary

-If you only buy one of the 100th Anniversary specials, make it this one!

-The Avengers of 2061 are drastically different than the current iteration, featuring Beta Ray Bill, Rogue, and others.

-Earth has fought off invasions, been swallowed up by the Negative Zone, and overrun by moleoids.  What will The Avengers face next?

-The true reason to pick this one-shot up is the gloriously surreal artwork by James Stoke, author and creator of Wonton Soup and Ork Stain.

Jun 272014
 

Fantastic Four 100th AnniversayFantastic Four 100th Anniversary #1

-The start of a series of one-shots set in the far future of the Marvel Universe!

-100 years after their first appearance, the Fantastic Four are a very different group.

-How do the granddaughter of Doctor Doom and the twin children of the Banners and the Richards get along?

-Written by the psychedelic author of Ork Stain and Wonton Soup (also out in reprint this week), James Stokoe!

Deadpool vs. X-Force #1 (of 4)Deadpool vs X-Force #1

-The way history has progressed just doesn’t sit well with Deadpool.  Time to change it.

-Blasting back to the past, Deadpool is on a mad tear to alter the time line, but he has the original X-Force on his tail!

-This four issue miniseries details the “real” first meeting of Deadpool and Cable!  Yes, even before New Mutants #98!

-Crime writer and former author of The Dark Knight and Birds of Prey, Duane Swierczynski steps in for Cullen Bunn as our tour guide to the nineties!

The Legendary Star Lord  #!The Legendary Star Lord #1

-The first of three new Guardians of the Galaxy spin-off series launching this week!

-The writer of this series, Sam Humphries knows a thing or two about scoundrels after writing Uncanny X-Force for many issues!

-A bit of double duty, one of the other Guardians spin-offs this week is GotG Most Wanted!

-This issue stars Rocket and Groot as Groot attempts to arrest Rocket for his crimes.

Rocket Raccoon #1Rocket Raccoon #1

-Rocket (don’t call him a raccoon) gets his own ongoing series a month before Guardians of the Galaxy hits theaters!

-Skottie Young, famous for providing amazing baby variant covers to all the Marvel books of the last two years, illustrates this series (one he was born to draw!) while also writing it!

-Not only does Young provide the regular cover for the issue, but also a sweet variant cover sporting Rocket firing a ridiculously over-sized gun.  David Peterson, author and illustrator of Mouse Guard, also provides a variant.

-On the lamb from intergalactic law, Rocket attempts to clear his name as he races across the galaxy!

Jun 202014
 

Savage Hulk #1Savage Hulk #1

-He’s always angry, he’s the Savage Hulk!

-Similar to the Savage Wolverine ongoing series, each arc of the Savage Hulk will be illustrated and written by a different creative team.

-First up, comic legend Alan Davis (Green Arrow/Green Lantern) will be both illustrating and writing the first arc.

-A blast to the past, issue #1 drops the readers in the early days of the Marvel Universe as the Hulk crosses paths the X-Men, revealing a secret history between Xavier and Banner.

My Little Pony Friends Forever v.1 tpbMy Little Pony Friends Forever tpb

-Take another trip to Equestria with this first volume of this new ongoing My Little Pony series.

-Each issue collected in this volume is a stand-alone story, featuring two ponies working together to solve a problem.

-The pair-ups in this first volume include Pinkie Pie and Applejack, the Cutie Mark Crusaders and Discord, Spike and Princess Celestia, and Twilight Sparkle with Shining Armor.

-A perfect jumping-on point for any Bronies who haven’t previously read the MLP comic series!

Dead Body RoadDead Body Road tpb

-Justin Jordan, the creator behind The Strange Talent of Luther Strode, Team 7, and the upcoming Spread, delivers a grueling revenge story in Dead Body Road.

-This collection contains the entire six issue story.

-Orson Gage loved his wife.  He despises the people that killed her.  And he’s eager to put them all six feet under.

-Fans of revenge films like Boondock Saints or Payback and gritty crime stories like Southern Bastards and Sons of Anarchy will love Dead Body Road.

 

Outcast #1Outcast #1

-Honestly, all anyone really needs to know about Outcast is that it’s written by Robert Kirkman, the creator of The Walking Dead.

-If you want to know more, however, the premise of the book focuses on a freelance exorcist who himself has been possessed frequently throughout his life.

-The first issue of Walking Dead currently sells for over a thousand dollars, the #1 issue of Kirkman’s last ongoing series, Thief of Thieves, goes for over $70, picking up a copy of Outcast #1 could prove to be a smart financial investment.

-Oh, and the first printing is already entirely sold out at the distributor level.  That might have a bit of an effect on its value.

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

May 162014
 

Pathfinder City of Secrets #1Pathfinder City of Secrets #1 (of 6)

-Jim Zub, writer of fantasy series like Skullkickers and the previous Pathfinder series, returns to GM this miniseries.

-An entirely new Pathfinder series, City of Secrets is a fresh entry point for new readers!

-The party ventures into Magnimar, a magical city that threatens to tear the group apart!

-As with the previous series, each issue will contain a unique, playable Pathfinder encounter and foldout map.

The Movement v.1 tpb The Movement v.1 tpb

-Gail Simone’s most recent DC Comics series gains its first eight issue trade paperback, featuring an ensemble of original characters created by Simone herself!

-In Coral City, the police are out of control, harming citizens more than helping.  The Movement is out to change that.

-Local artist Freddie E. Williams III joins Simone, delivering a kinetic, action-packed artistry to the series!

-Finishing last week with issue #12, The Movement v.1 acts as the first half of a complete story that introduces exciting new characters to the DC Universe.

MPH #1MPH #1

-Mark Millar expands his control on the world of comics a little further with this ongoing series!

-Millar brings the same cynical grimness and dark humor he did with Kick-Ass, Superior, and Wanted to this Image comic!

-What happens when a gang of inner city teens discover a drug called MPH that grants them super speed?  $#*! gonna get F’ed up!

-Drawing a fine line between hero and criminal, the teens of MPH explore the how with great power, creates great corruptibility.

Black Canary and Zatanna Bloodspell HCBlack Canary and Zatanna Blood Spell HC

-Paul Dini, creator of Batman:  The Animated Series, returns to comics for this original graphic novel!

-In the works for over three years, Bloodspell is a long awaited team-up book featuring the pre-New 52 Black Canary and Zatanna.

-The incredible Joe Quinones, of FF, Captain Marvel, and The Spectacular Spider-Man fame, illustrates the entire graphic novel in his distinct, cartoony style!

-A year after infiltrating a cult of female magicians, Black Canary is haunted by their ghosts, a threat that requires the assistance of her close friend Zatanna.