Apr 042014
 

Nightcrawler #1

-Everyone’s favorite elf is back from the dead and ready to return to his swashbuckling ways!

-And who better to bring Nightcrawler back into the fold than the X-Men writer most known for writing the character, Chris Claremont.

-This ongoing series spins out of Jason Aaron’s popular Amazing X-Men storyline.

-Nightcrawler and Wolverine hit the road to find out why someone is gunning for Nightcrawler‘s loved ones.

Shutter #1

-Joe Keatinge of Morbius, the Living Vampire and Marvel Knights Hulk acclaim delivers a new ongoing Image comic series!

-Keatinge promises the series straddles the line between Indiana Jones and Fables!

-A young adventurer, from a family of adventurers, must travel the globe in search of them, battling triceratops, robots, and other fantasy creatures in order to rescue the ones she loves.

-Make sure you don’t miss out on issue one, like so many did on previous popular Image comics, like Chew, Manifest Destiny, and Thief of Thieves.

Iron Fist the Living Weapon #1

-Seven years ago, Marvel Comics launched The Immortal Iron Fist, a series that turned into one of the most respected, beloved Marvel series of all time.  Now he’s back.

-A purely kung-fu revenge epic, this series sends Danny Rand back to the mystical city of K’un Lun, where he gained his powers, in search of vengeance.

-Kaare Andrews, writer and artist on Spider-Man: Reign, brings both skills to bear on this new, ongoing series.

-Skottie Young also delivers his regular top-notch variant cover for this first issue, depicting Iron Fist Ki-yahh-ing in front of a dragon.

Batman Eternal #1

-DC‘s first weekly series during the New 52 era begins!  And it’s all about the Bat family!

-Scott Snyder oversees this important Batman series, leading four other talented writers, including John Layman (Chew), James Tynion IV (Talon), Tim Seeley (Hack/Slash), and Ray Fawkes (Constantine).

-Major changes to the Batman universe will stem from this series, especially in regards to Jim Gordon’s status as commissioner and the re-appearance of Stephanie Brown/Spoiler.

-A Batman comic each week for an entire year!

Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Nov 092013
 

Injustice Gods Among Us v.1 HC

-The entire first six issue run of the comic prequel series for the hit DC fighting game!

-Tom Taylor, the writer, has made his name off of this series, delivering shocking, unexpected twists that make you crave the next issue.

-Find out what happens when the Joker takes things too far in a universe where anything can happen!

-DC has always excelled at telling alternate universe stories and Injustice is no different.  The Elseworlds of the New 52 era!

Umbral #1

-Sci-Fi fantasy done the Image Comics way!

-Antony Johnston and Christopher Mitten, the creative team of Umbral, have written unique science fiction before in the form of the long-running series, Wasteland.

-After a young thief secretly sees the royal family murdered in cold blood, the murders are on her tail as she makes a mad rush across the galaxy.

-Fans of the recent Image launches (i.e. Saga, Sex Criminals, Velvet, and Prophet) should take notice.

Manifest Destiny #1

-Speaking of Image, here’s another new entry into their growing line of unique stories and settings.

-The untold tale of Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, Manifest Destiny retells the duo’s exploration across the open American West, but with a monstrous twist.

-Chris Dingess, the writer, knows his way around werewolves and other demons as he comes off of writing episodes of the Being Human television series, as well as Reaper and Medium.

-Already sold-out at the distributor level, Manifest Destiny #1 should be nabbed before it disappears altogether.

Marvel Knights X-Men #1 (of 5)

-Matt Kindt and Marco Rudy’s Marvel Knights Spider-Man miniseries has set the tone for Marvel‘s relaunch of this grim and gritty imprint, promising weird, stylistic, adult stories with famous Marvel characters.

-A breeding ground for up-and-coming talent, Marvel Knights brings in Brahm Revel, a young writer and penciler ready to bring a more thoughtful tone to the X-Men than offered in the mainline books.

-A minimalist story that takes Wolverine, Rogue, and Kitty Pryde back to the basics of the X-Men, this miniseries sees the trio travel to a smalltown to stop a string of bigoted murders of recently developed mutants.

-Revel’s concise artistic style, reminiscent of Darwyn Cooke and Bruce Timm, will deliver ambiance and character emotion in simple, broad strokes.

Nov 022013
 

Alex + Ada #1

-Master of Indy comic Sci-Fi weirdness (Girls, Sword, Whispers), Jonathan Luna returns to Image Comics with a new romance comic unlike any other.

-Luna’s clean style of artwork has famously accompanied all of his projects, and continues to here.

-While you may have heard of mail-order brides, they don’t commonly come with a USB input and a software package.  Ada does.

-Love is just as difficult in the near future, it’s just between a man an an android.

Justice League of America v.1 HC (New 52)

-One Justice League book is not enough for Geoff Johns, he has to have two!

-Formed as a deterrent to the main Justice League, the JLA is a government sanctioned and run team lead by Steve Trevor and including Hawkman, Simone Baz Green Lantern, Stargirl, Vibe, Catwoman, Martian Manhunter, Katana, and Green Arrow.

-This hardcover edition collects the entire first storyline of the series, which features important information for the Forever Evil event currently in progress.

-If iconic DC characters like Superman and Wonder Woman aren’t your bag, then JLA‘s focus on character development, humor, and espionage action will deliver what you want!

Cataclysm:  The Ultimates Last Stand #1 (of 5)

-Fresh off another Marvel mini-event (Battle for the Atom), Brian Michael Bendis once again takes control of the Ultimate universe to helm its own mini-event.

-Bendis began the Ultimate universe over ten years ago with Ultimate Spider-Man #1.  Since then he has written that series for nearly a decade and a half.  This may be his swan song.

-After Age of Ultron, the regular universe Galactus has crossed into the Ultimate universe and has just arrived at Earth.

-The rumors are that the Ultimate universe is coming to an end and that this will be its last story.  Miles Morales, it has also been assumed, will be crossing into the regular universe at the end of this very series!  Don’t miss out!

Amazing X-Men #1

-Local author Jason Aaron applies his talent for writing funny, youthful, inventive X-Men characters (see Wolverine and the X-Men) to yet another X-Men series.

-This near event book will be returning the long lost, cult favorite character Nightcrawler.

-Kurt Wagner has been dead for nearly five years now, but that doesn’t stop Wolverine from venturing into the great beyond with a merry band of mutants to reclaim him.

-Pirates, angels, demons, and Nightcrawler‘s arch foe Azazel stand in the Amazing X-Men‘s way, but do you think that’s going to stop them?

Oct 122013
 

Batman v.3 HC “Death of the Family”

-Scott Snyder’s second Batman arc since the beginning of the New 52 finally receives the deluxe hardcover treatment!

-After having his face cut off months ago, Joker has returned and he’s out for revenge against his archenemy.  Strategically striking at each member of the Bat-family, Joker slowly chips away at the unity of the group, testing their bonds.

-Snyder utilizes his skill for transferring horror to the comic page by having Greg Capullo illustrate some of the most creepy Joker moments you’ll ever read.  You’ll never look at cats the same way, trust me.

-The edition which releases this Wednesday is a limited print run which will not be orderable after it sells out, featuring a gatefold cover of the Clown Prince of Crime himself.

Adventure Time Fionna & Cake tpb

-Boys are so gross.  That’s why Fionna and her best lady pal, Cake, are here to punch you in the face-mouth with some algebraic action.

-The entire six issue series of this hit, hard-to-find Adventure Time spin-off is collected within the covers of this beautifully designed, packed-with-extras, trade paperback volume!

-You know it’s globbin’ for real, ’cause it’s written and illustrated by Fionna and Cake creator, Natasha Allegri!

-Far from simple Ice King fan fiction, this story will blow your mathematical mind!

And because last week had ALL the comics, here’s two Blast from the Past issues that you may have missed.

Secret Society #1

-Yes, this came out weeks ago!  However, many people skipped it thinking it would be unimportant.  Oh, how wrong.

-Billed as a story about The Outsider’s recently assembled Secret Society, the actual story focuses on the origins of The Outsider and his compatriots, Owlman and Talon, from Earth 3.

-If you’ve been reading Forever Evil, this issues is the most essential Villain’s Month issue for understanding what’s going on in the Forever Evil miniseries.

-Why is Nightwing important to the Crime Syndicate?  Why does The Outsider laugh?  How did Earth 3 get destroyed?  All these and questions you did even think to ask are answered in this one-shot.

Magic the Gathering: Theros #1

-IDW is at it again with an entirely new Magic the Gathering comic miniseries, based off of the mythological creatures of Theros.

-As always, this issue comes with a special promo card, only found with issue one of this series.

-After Dack Fayden has eliminated the Planeswalker who killed his family he’s back to thieving.  But his most recent acquisition comes with an unsuspected price:  a one-way trip to Theros!

-The High Tide promo included in this issue will, like other the previous promos, go up in value quickly, which means copies will disappear off the shelves fast!