Aug 152014
 

Fade Out #1Fade Out #1 

-Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips, the team behind Fatale, Criminal, Incognito, and Sleeper return to Image Comics for another neo-noir ongoing series!

-Set in Hollywood during the late forties, Fade Out follows a film production slowly going off the rails.

-The first issue is oversized at forty pages, but only costs the regular Image price of $3.50!

-Don’t wait for the trade paperback, because, like Sex Criminals and Saga, the single issues will feature bonus articles and letters pages only found there!

Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #1Sensation Comics #1

-A second ongoing Wonder Woman series launches this week!

-Gail Simone returns to the character she was born to write!

-Ethan Van Sciver, artist of Green Lantern, Flash Rebirth, and Batman The Dark Knight, pairs with Simone to lend a heightened darkness to the story!

-With the Batman family unable to respond, Wonder Woman is forced to come to Gotham City in order to lasso up some of Batman‘s worst foes before they take over the city.

Little Nemo Return to SlumberlandLittle Nemo Return to Slumberland #1 

-Winsor McKay’s beloved and acclaimed comic strip is back with an entirely new story!

-IDW has commissioned top quality creators to carry on McKay’s legacy, matching the unrivaled artistic endeavor that was the original.

-Eric Shanower, writer of Marvel‘s Wizard of Oz‘s children’s series, and Gabriel Rodriguez, the exceptional artist of Locke & Key, join forces on this miniseries.

-An all-ages story, Return to Slumberland sees Nemo being pulled back into Slumberland as an indentured playmate for the Princess of Dreams.

Multiversity #1Multiversity #1

-Grant Morrison’s long gestating miniseries about the 52 alternate realities of the DC Universe finally comes to fruition!

-The miniseries will be comprised of two bookend one-shots (this being the first), six single issue stories, and a guidebook of the multiverse itself.

-Each issue will feature a different artist, depicting each world in a unique style in order to differentiate them.  Issue #1 features the work of Ivan Reis, the artist behind Blackest Night, Green Lantern, and Justice League.

-The Superman of Earth-23, who also happens to be president, joins forces with heroes from other worlds to form a multiversal Justice League in order to combat a universe ending threat!

Jul 252014
 

Bodies #1Bodies #1 (of 8)

-Like a British version of True Detective.

-Si Spencer, the British writer of various Judge Dredd, Hellblazer, and Doctor Who comics, weaves a decade spanning crime mystery.

-Bodies is set in four different time periods, ranging from the 1890s to 2050, each with their own detective attempting to solve a homicide.

-Each time period is also drawn by a different artist, giving a distinct tone to each story.

Hugh Howey’s Wool #1 (of 6)Hugh Howey's Woold #1

-A graphic novel adaptation of the New York Times bestselling novel!

-What began as a single short story has grown into a series of novellas and now a comic book adaptation.

-The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where the remnants of society live in a 100-story deep silo.  Or is it that simple?  Wool is a story of nearly constant twists and turns, leaving the reader desperate for answers.

-Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti (Jonah Hex, All-Star Western, Harley Quinn) and Jimmy Broxton (Knight and Squire) are handling the adaptation, with Darwyn Cooke on covers.

Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1

-Everyone’s favorite secret agent chicken is back!

-The Chew guys don’t skimp on one-shots, as both John Layman and Rob Guillory are not passing writing and art duties off to fill-in creators.

-The last Poyo one shot vanished off the shelves nearly as quick as it arrived, making it a sought after collectible

-Adding to the collector’s value of this issue, Poyo crosses paths with Robert Kirkman’s Walking Dead cast, so you know that’s going to have some after-market value.

Low #1Low #1

-Another new series from Rick Remender, who after Black Science, Captain America, Uncanny Avengers, and Marvel‘s upcoming Axis miniseries, is on a creative roll!

-Basically, a Bioshock comic book series.

-Low takes place on an Earth that has been so irradiated by the explosion of our sun that humanity has moved under the ocean for protection.

-Greg Tocchini’s gorgeous painterly artwork adds another beautiful comic series to the already populated list of capably illustrated Image Comics series.

Jun 272014
 

Fantastic Four 100th AnniversayFantastic Four 100th Anniversary #1

-The start of a series of one-shots set in the far future of the Marvel Universe!

-100 years after their first appearance, the Fantastic Four are a very different group.

-How do the granddaughter of Doctor Doom and the twin children of the Banners and the Richards get along?

-Written by the psychedelic author of Ork Stain and Wonton Soup (also out in reprint this week), James Stokoe!

Deadpool vs. X-Force #1 (of 4)Deadpool vs X-Force #1

-The way history has progressed just doesn’t sit well with Deadpool.  Time to change it.

-Blasting back to the past, Deadpool is on a mad tear to alter the time line, but he has the original X-Force on his tail!

-This four issue miniseries details the “real” first meeting of Deadpool and Cable!  Yes, even before New Mutants #98!

-Crime writer and former author of The Dark Knight and Birds of Prey, Duane Swierczynski steps in for Cullen Bunn as our tour guide to the nineties!

The Legendary Star Lord  #!The Legendary Star Lord #1

-The first of three new Guardians of the Galaxy spin-off series launching this week!

-The writer of this series, Sam Humphries knows a thing or two about scoundrels after writing Uncanny X-Force for many issues!

-A bit of double duty, one of the other Guardians spin-offs this week is GotG Most Wanted!

-This issue stars Rocket and Groot as Groot attempts to arrest Rocket for his crimes.

Rocket Raccoon #1Rocket Raccoon #1

-Rocket (don’t call him a raccoon) gets his own ongoing series a month before Guardians of the Galaxy hits theaters!

-Skottie Young, famous for providing amazing baby variant covers to all the Marvel books of the last two years, illustrates this series (one he was born to draw!) while also writing it!

-Not only does Young provide the regular cover for the issue, but also a sweet variant cover sporting Rocket firing a ridiculously over-sized gun.  David Peterson, author and illustrator of Mouse Guard, also provides a variant.

-On the lamb from intergalactic law, Rocket attempts to clear his name as he races across the galaxy!

Jun 062014
 

Night of the Living Deadpool tpbNight of the Living Deadpool tpb

-Cullen Bunn, whom some of you might have met back in May, continues his Deadpool vs. run of miniseries!

-Having fought the Marvel Universe, all of literature, and every alternate version of himself, Deadpool now faces off against a horde of zombies!

-Waking up from a chimichanga coma, Deadpool finds that the entire city has been overrun with the undead.

-As a cool stylistic choice, the entire comic is illustrated in black and white, except for Deadpool who is in color.

Blood Queen #1Blood Queen #1

-Fans of Grimm Fairy Tales should pay attention to the new Dynamite series, Blood Queen.

-Troy Brownfield, former writer of both GFT and GFT Myths and Legends, helms this dark fantasy series.

-In order to save the life of a young princess, a sorceress of great power is called upon by the kingdom to undertake a journey of epic proportions!

-Jay Anacelto, also of GFT, lends his gorgeous painterly artwork to the covers of this series!

Angry Birds Comics #1Angry Bird Comics #1

-You knew it had to happen.  Wheeeeeee!

-Current author of Aquaman, Jeff Parker, crafts this anthology series for IDW.

-Each issue features four unique short stories about the Angry Birds crew adventuring through various fantasy lands.

-A perfect starter comic for any young, prospective comic reader.

Empty Man #1 (of 6)Empty Man #1

-We began with Cullen Bunn tonight and now we end with his new BOOM! Studios miniseries.

-An unusual disease has swept the country causing people to devolve into a catatonic state and it is called the Empty Man disease.

-Two agents, one from the FBI and one from the CDC, have joined forces in an attempt to discover the source of the disease and, maybe, a cure.

-A dark, shadowy suspense series, Empty Man will satisfy for fans of Silence of the Lambs, 12 Monkeys, and The Following!

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!