Mar 282014
 

The Field #1 (of 4)

-Fans of mysterious serialized storytelling, like The Twilight Zone and LOST, should take a look at this new Image miniseries.

-Ed Brisson, up-and-coming writer of Robocop Last Stand, Secret Avengers, and Sheltered, delivers another unique Image experience!

-A lone man wakes up in a field with amnesia and no hope of figure out who he is or how he got there, except for a random cell phone that warns him about encroaching danger.

-Simon Roy, artist extraordinaire on Brandon Graham’s Prophet, joins with Brisson, supplying his Heavy Metal-esque detail and freakish character designs.

Deadpool vs. Carnage #1 (of 4)

-Cullen Bunn, local writer, continues his runaway success of a run on Deadpool with this four issue miniseries!

-The follow-up to Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Deadpool Kills Deadpool, and Night of the Living Deadpool!

-As much as this miniseries is a match of viciousness, it is also a match of insanity.

-Solicits for the book promise ample disembodiment, collateral damage, and hijinks.

Aquaman and the Others #1

-Veteran DC writer and artist Dan Jurgens fleshes out the world of Aquaman that Geoff Johns established in the ongoing series!

-Gain more information on the history of The Others, the Justice League-esque team Aquaman hung out with before he became a famous superhero.

-Also learn more about the mysterious artifacts each of The Others wield against their foes, especially Aquaman‘s trident.

-If you’re still a person who laughs about there being an Aquaman comic series, get with the times and realize he’s one of DC‘s most bad@$$ characters!

Inhuman #1

-Nineties comic legend Joe Madureira (Battle Chasers, Avenging Spider-Man, Ultimates 3) returns to Marvel as interior artist on this ongoing series!

-Charles Soule handles writing duties, following up his hit runs on Swamp Thing, Thunderbolts, and She-Hulk!

-Mutants are so last year, it’s Inhumans all the way in 2014!

-After the events of Infinity, random humans are being transformed by the Terrigen Mist creating an entirely new body of superpowered beings!  How will the rest of the Marvel universe react?

Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Mar 072014
 

Secret Avengers #1

-The best spy book currently being written is Ales Kot’s Zero from Image, which makes him the absolutely perfect author to take the reins on Marvel’s premier spy book, Secret Avengers.

-Features a team of Marvel movie characters, like Nick Fury, Agent Coulson, Hawkeye, and Black Widow, plus the newly added Spider-Woman!

-How will this team of secret agents stop defunct S.H.I.E.L.D. satellites from falling to the Earth?

-Kot excels at weird, weird storytelling alongside concise action and startling cliffhangers.  Expect to be surprised by the end of issue one.

Captain Marvel #1 (of 6)

-If you, like me, missed the boat on this cult favorite series, now’s your second chance.

-This series is still written by the woman that made Captain Marvel what she is today, Kelly Sue DeConnick!

-Carol Danvers heads off into space during the first arc, facing the implosion of galactic war!

-Support female characters and writers in comics by picking up issue one!

Stray Bullets: The Killers #1

-One of the most acclaimed crime serials in all of comics returns from Image Comics!

-David Lapham (whose name you HAVE heard), writer of Crossed, Young Liars, Age of Apocalypse, and tons more, returns to the series he created!

-Noir to the bone, Stray Bullets features single issue stories that link together over the course of many issues (think 100 Bullets).

-In issue one, a father and son commit a hit-and-run only to find out a stranger witnessed the crime.  To what twisted lengths will they go to avoid being caught?

Avengers Undercover #1

-Dennis Hopeless returns to the characters of Avengers Arena for, in television terms, a second season!

-Basically, 21 Jump Street in the Marvel Universe.

-Those who survived the arena want revenge against the man that put them there, Arcade, but he’s gone underground in the safety of a supervillain city.  Now these heroes have to pretend to be villains in order to catch him.  Will some slip a little too far?  And what happens when they catch up?

-With Planet Con coming up next weekend and the fact that Dennis will be attending, you should totally pick up the super rare variant cover for this issue and get it signed by him!

Feb 152014
 

New Warriors #1

-Chris Yost, producer of Marvel‘s various animated cartoon series and former writer of Scarlet Spider, resurrects the cult classic series!

-Yost also brings Scarlet Spider and the new Nova along with him!

-Along with them, Speedball, Justice, Sun Girl, and other rejoin the team, along with two or three entirely new members, created by Yost.

-Once they’ve banded together, these teen heroes must hold back the advancing, genocidal armies of the High Evolutionary!

Undertow #1

-Another inventive ongoing series from Image Comics!  Will it be like Manifest Destiny, Morning Glories, Thief of Thieves, or Chew before it and leave you hunting for a first print of issue #1?

-Citing Ray Harryhausen as an inspiration, series writer Steve Orlando promises a pulpy, sci-fi, monster-infused tone for the book!

-Set in an alternate reality where Atlantis survived to become the sole power on Earth, Undertow follows the adventures of its worst enemy as he attempts to break apart the system.

-Will Redum Anshargal find the secret to breathing on land?!

White Suits #1 (of 4)

-Frank J. Barbiere, writer of one of Image Comics top series, Five Ghosts, delivers a supernatural crime series dripping with mystery.

-Think Punisher meets the X-Files!

-Who are the White Suits?  These mysterious vigilantes have been rumored to wipe out criminal activity across the globe, but that doesn’t stop the FBI from trying to track them down!

-Barbiere is a great young writer that appreciates a concise storytelling and vivid action, so expect a fast-paced, action oriented miniseries!

Zero v.1 tpb “An Emergency”

-Fighting hard to become the next Grant Morrison, Ales Kot, writer of Zero, is one of the youngest, most intriguing comic book writers to arrive on the scene in many years!

-An espionage narrative told in chapters, Zero is like a modern day version of BBC‘s The Prisoner, telling psychedelic stories that incorporate pseudo-Sci-Fi elements.

-Edward Zero’s entire life has been one long training exercise in how to kill.  His story plays out across one-shot issues, each drawn by an assortment of talented artists!

-This volume one edition contains the first five issues of the series, catching readers up to the present issue, for only $9.99!

Feb 082014
 

Image Comics Two-fer:  Mercenary Sea #1 & Fuse #1

-Two new ongoing series from Image Comics drop this week, each featuring work of up-and-coming writers and artists!

-Mercenary Sea is a pulpy wartime adventure set aboard a refitted German U-Boat, as the crew of adventurers for hire travel the globe.

-Equally pulpy, but at the opposite end of time is Fuse, a murder mystery, cop procedural on-board a floating space station.

-Fuse is being written by Anthony Johnson, writer of cult classic series Wasteland and Umbral.

Winter Soldier Bitter March #1 (of 5)

-Leading up to this year’s Captain America: Winter Soldier movie, Marvel is launching a short and sweet series offering background on the character.

-A complete homage to Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels, Bitter March tells a flashback story of Bucky Barnes’ long lost past.

-Rick Remender, author of Uncanny X-Force, Uncanny Avengers, Deadly Class, Fear Agent, and so much more, helms this miniseries.

-The Winter Soldier is pitted against two American S.H.I.E.L.D. agents, with both hot on the trail of two wayward Nazi scientists.

X-Force #1

-Returning to the covert ops theme of Rick Remender’s Uncanny X-Force, X-Force #1 sees Cable leading his team on missions the X-Men don’t want announced to the public.

-After the conclusions of Cable and X-Force and the previous Uncanny X-Force series, members of each team have combined to carry out the dirty work of the mutant population.

-Simon Spurrier has been bucking expectations with his mind-bending X-Men Legacy series, of late.  What sorts of twists and turns will he unleash here?

-Not only is this black ops mutant team comprised of Cable, Psylocke, and Fantomex, but also the recently re-powered Marrow.

She-Hulk #1

-And what is the jury’s verdict on She-Hulk #1?  Uh, a must-read.  Come on.

-Rising star writer (and full time attorney) Charles Soule (Swamp Thing, Red Lanterns, Thunderbolts, Superman/Wonder Woman) is the absolute perfect writer to handle the legal dealings of Jennifer Walters, part time lawyer and all time greatest, green criminal beater!

-Fans of Hawkeye pay attention, because you don’t want to miss out on the next Marvel sensation!

-She-Hulk will see Jennifer attempting to balance her own, private practice with crime fighting, all told in one-and-done issues!