Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Dec 282013
 

Avengers A.I. v.1 tpb

-Spinning out of the fallout from the Age of Ultron event!

-Collects the entire first six issue storyline, wherein Hank Pym, distraught over the revelations of AoU, assembles a team of robotically inclined individuals to combat technological threats.

-The team brings in Vision, Victor Mancha from The Runaways, a sentient Doombot, and Monica Chang of S.H.I.E.L.D.

-How will this chaotic assemblage of robo-vengers manage against a sentient Iron Man armor intent on world destruction?  Pick up volume one to find out!

The Twilight Zone #1

-J. Michael Straczynski is back in the world of comics in a BIG way!  Jumping to Dynamite, Straczynski lends his capable writing talents to relaunching one of the greatest television series to ever grace the airwaves.

-Sticking to the classic format of the show, each issue will be a stand-alone story featuring dark, twisted, socially relevant content!

-However, Straczynski brings a twist to the table (appropriate for a series based on twists) wherein each story will link characters and locations together, forming a larger interconnected universe.

-Issue one features a tale of economic revenge, as a big banker attempts to skip out on the repercussions of a shady deal only to find he has a sizable punishment in store.

Dead Boy Detectives #1

-Spinning out of the pages of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman!

-Continuing the resurgence of DC‘s mature Vertigo line of comics, Dead Boy Detectives #1 brings the grim, adult, literary minded storytelling of its predecessor back to the comic shelves!

-Written by Vertigo alumni and Fables artist, Mark Buckingham, the series promises to weave together the depth of a novel with the artistry of comics.

-The series follows two deceased adolescents who have opened up their own junior, ghostly detective agency.  In issue one, the two return to their junior high school to solve a crime, bringing them in contact with a young girl hacker who joins their gang.  A Harry Potter vibe is sure to follow.

Legenderry: A Steampunk Adventure #1 (of 7)

-After last year’s successful Dynamite crossover, Masks, Legenderry brings together a number of the publishers properties in an entirely new light!

-The Green Hornet, Kato, Vampirella, Flash Gordon, and The Phantom cross paths in an alternate, steampunk reality!

-The miniseries is written by the creator and head writer of the mega-popular, long-running Fables series, Bill Willingham!

-The team will crisscross  the world and beyond, in a steampunk adventure for fans of pulp and steampunk!

Dec 072013
 

WWE Ongoing #1

-WWE turns from heel to face by releasing a new ongoing series about the biz!

-The series is set to feature all of the stars of the squared circle you love and love to hate, including CM Punk, John Cena, Undertaker, Kane, Mark Henry, Shamus, and, of course, ole Vince McMahon, himself.

-Fluid artwork depicts all the slobber knockery and car crash-like action of each vicious throwdown.

-And expect the voice of the series to be 100% accurate, as it is written by New York Times best-selling author and wrestling legend, Mick Foley!

Doc Savage (Dynamite) #1

-The Man of Bronze returns from the company who knows pulp!

-Chris Roberson, the writer behind indy hits like iZombie and Memorial, as well as Dynamite events like Masks, takes Doc out for a solo adventure!

-Those unfamiliar with Doc Savage should take notice as the Doc is the granddaddy of all superhero characters, especially Superman!

-Dynamite knows how to tell a pulpy tale the right way, as anyone who’s read The Shadow, Green Hornet, Masks, or King’s Watch, will attest.

Marvel Knights Hulk #1 (of 4)

-Continuing Marvel‘s return to the grit and grime of the Marvel Knights line, this Hulk miniseries follows in the footsteps of MK Spider-Man and X-Men.

-Joe Keatinge, fresh off his take on Morbius, the Living Vampire, weaves this destructive tale of an amnesiac, on-the-run Bruce Banner in Paris.

-Keatinge is joined by rising artist, and master of adult (with a capital A) artwork, Piotr Kowalski (SEX).

-Find out who’s chasing Bruce, how he forgot everything, and why others are turning into Hulks in this short, stylish miniseries.

Dead Body Road #1

-Roaring into stores this Wednesday, Dead Body Road is a pure homage to seventies revenge films, like Death Wish, Point Blank, and The Getaway.

-Justin Jordan made a name for himself off of the grisly superhero deconstruction that was Luthor Strode, but now he branches out to crime fiction. . .but with the same violent tone.

-A revenge story at heart, Dead Body Road follows Orson Gage down American highways as he hunts down those who’ve ruined his life.

-Fans of rough, though comics like The Cape, Preacher, the Parker adaptations, Criminal, and Gearhead need to give a look.

Aug 242013
 

Masks v.1 tpb

-The Shadow + Zorro + The Spider + Green Hornet + Kato = Best.  Crossover.  Ever!

-Alex Ross not only lends his unmatched artistic talents to the first issue, he also delivers on multiple covers for the series, too, all of which are included in this collection.

-These pulp heroes must unite to fight off the corrupt government of 1938 New York!

-The entire eight issue series, plus extras, is included in this single, oversized volume!

Young Avengers v.1 tpb

-All the fan favorite Young Avenger characters are back and filled with more adolescent angst than ever!

-Kieron Gillen brings the same pop infused vibrancy that made Phonogram the cult hit that it was!  The Young Avengers are officially teenagers now, and they party, drink, quarrel, and sleep around like everyone at that age.

-Jamie McKelvie, formerly of Phonogram, X-Men Season One, and Secret Avengers, makes this book sing, as far as artwork goes, pulling out expressive “performances” from all the characters.

-Oh, and for that extra bit of dissent, the reason all the characters get back together is due to the machinations of Kid Loki!  Fans of Gillen Journey into Mystery take note!

Itty Bitty Hellboy #1

-The masters of cute behind Tiny Titans and Superman Family Adventures jump companies to make Hellboy more adorable than ever!

-Anyone familiar with Art Balthazar and Franco’s Tiny Titans should expect the same comic-strip style of storytelling, perfect for younger audiences!

-Any parent who hopes to get their kids into Hellboy, but may be hesitant about the main book’s content can use Itty Bitty as an entry point.

-Did I mention the cuteness?

Guardians of the Galaxy v.1 HC

-Meet the entire cast of next year’s Marvel hit film, including Starlord, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, and Groot.

-Brian Michael Bendis (Uncanny X-Men, All-New X-Men) plays up the action and banter of the Guardians team with his witty writing style.

-Iron Man also joins the team early on, linking the Marvel interstellar universe with the main universe.

-Did I mention the raccoon with the nasty attitude and matching gigantic gun?

Jul 132013
 

The Mysterious Strangers #1-2

1. If Charlie’s Angels, The Avengers (BBC version), and The Prisoner conceived a baby on a drunken night, nine months later The Mysterious Strangers would pop out!

2. You may have picked up the ENTIRE FIRST ISSUE of this series on Free Comic Book Day, but for those who didn’t issue #1 is being released again, along with issue #2.

3. If you didn’t pick up the issue, the book is a sixties period piece starring a team of adventures possessing a variety of unique powers control by their tattooed hands.

4. Chris Roberson has been on a roll lately with his pulpy runs on Masks and The Shadow, which makes him the perfect man to write a series so steeped in retro action!

Batman ’66 #1

1. HOLY BATUSI, BATMAN!!!!!!!

2. Speaking of retro action, the first original content starring the cast of the famous camp Batman television series of the 1960s, Batman ’66 celebrates the tradition of this wacky show!

3. Writer Jeff Parker (Dark Avengers, Agents of Atlas) brings his years and years of experience writing Golden Age style characters and story arcs to this nostalgic, humorous series.

4. All the punny insanity that you’ve come to expect from The Camp Crusader, Batman ’66 becomes a rare comedy series on a rack filled with dark, brooding characters.

Number Cruncher #1

1. Just your average undead archangel working for The Divine Calculator by bringing souls into the afterlife, The Number Cruncher is about to run into a snag.

2. If you think X-Men Legacy and X-Club are weird beyond belief (but in a good way), wait until you read Si Spurrier’s Number Cruncher.

3. Originally written for 2000 A.D., this series brims with dark, intelligent surrealism and a dabble of humor, too.

4. Spurrier may bring the unusual to his Marvel series, but it’s nothing compared to his unleashed talents on independent titles like Six Gun Gorilla and Number Cruncher.

Red Sonja #1

1. Cheesecake becomes girl power in the relaunched, Red Sonja #1!

2. Written by the comic industry’s ambassador for female creators, Gail Simone, Red Sonja finally receives the humanistic tone she has deserved for so long from a writer that isn’t a sleazy dude!

3. Storywise, Sonja is on a doomed quest, leading a failing army, all in order to pay back a debt that may cost her life.

4. To enhance the fem power of the series, Dynamite has assembled an impressive array of female talent to illustrated six different covers!  These artists include Amanda Conner (Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre), Fiona Staples (Saga), Jenny Frison (Revival covers), and more!