Feb 262016
 

Predator Life and DeathPredator Life and Death #1 (of 4)

-Beloved author of the Warhammer 40K novels and a great Guardians of the Galaxy run, Dan Abnett steps into the Alien/Predator/Prometheus universe.

-The newest miniseries in Dark Horse‘s long running, popular Predator releases.

-Life and Death sees a band of Colonial Marines sent to a barren planet to retrieve a horse-shoe shaped ship by the Weyland-Yutani corporation.

-Of course, that mission isn’t going to go so well when a pack of Predators is on the hunt.

Amazing Spider-Man and Silk Spiderfly Effect #1 (of 4)Amazing Spider-Man Silk Spidefly Effect

-You thought one series starring Silk was enough, but you were wrong!

-Robbie Thompson, co-creator of Supernatural and writer of the Silk ongoing series, is also helming this four issue miniseries.

-If you’ve ever wanted to see the lovechild of Back to the Future and Spider-Man, Spiderfly Effect is that very thing!

-Silk and Spider-Man are sent back in time before they gained their powers, an accident that only causes them to inadvertently stop themselves from gaining said powers.

DisciplineDiscipline #1

-Having written Spider-Man, X-Men, Detective Comics, and nearly every other major comic series out there, Peter Milligan (oh, also Red Lanterns) launches a new ongoing Image series.

-Sex, sex, sex!  That usually gets everyone’s attention.  Discipline blends romance comics and sexual horror for a controversial series!

-Fans of Harrow County, Colder, and Sex Criminals need to check this series out!

-Melissa has lost the connection she had with her husband, which leads her to an illicit affair with another man.  However, man may not be the accurate descriptor, as he seems rather demonic.

Black Widow #1Black Widow

-Mark Waid and Chris Samnee, the team behind the acclaimed Daredevil run, rejoin for this new series!

-Chris Samnee is a masterful artist who is capable of experimenting with format and style in captivating ways.

-Natasha has spent her whole career gathering secrets, as well as making some.  When those get out in the open, she has to go on the lamb from the government she once served.

-Like the plot of Captain America:  Winter Soldier, but without that dull Steve Rogers dragging things down.

Jan 082016
 

Walking Dead #150Walking Dead #150

-Wow, time flies by when you’re in a zombie apocalypse!  Walking Dead has already made it’s way to issue #150!

-Robert Kirkman celebrates this landmark with an oversized issue for the same price as a standard issue!

-As he did with issue #100, Kirkman has commissioned variant covers from a number of major comic artists!

-Included in that list of cover artists Jason Latour, Ryan E. Ottley, Charlie Adlard, and the long estranged from the book, Tony Moore!

Green Lantern CORPS Edge of Oblivion #1 (of 6)Green Lantern Corps Edge of Oblivion

-Spins out of and continues the story from Green Lantern Lost Army!

-Veteran artist, Ethan Van Sciver (Green Lantern, Flash Reborn, Green Lantern Rebirth), returns to the Green Lantern universe to illustrate all six issues of this miniseries!

-Also returning to DC, Tom Taylor (Injustice, Earth 2, All New Wolverine, Superior Iron Man) will be writing every issue.

-Focusing on all of the Green Lanterns who are not Hal Jordan, Edge of Oblivion finds the CORPS having to escape from a dying universe while protecting a band of refugees.

Death of Wolverine tpbDeath of Wolverine tpb

-The long awaited softcover printing of Death of Wolverine is out next week!

-Find out how the X-Men‘s most famous member bit the big one in this four issue, landmark series!

-Written by Charles Soule (She-Hulk, Swamp Thing, Secret War Civil War, Daredevil)!

-Soule’s story is brought to life by respected artist Steve McNiven (Civil War, Amazing Spider-Man)!

Agents of Shield #1Agents of SHIELD

-Taking the place of Mark Waid’s SHIELD series, Agents of SHIELD now features the entire cast from the popular television show!

-Marc Guggenheim, writer and co-creator of CW‘s Arrow, will be writing the series going forward!

-Coulson is at the heart of this book’s first arc, as his old flame Lola (a person, not a car) comes out of the woodwork to activate a hidden mental boobytrap in Coulson’s mind that turns him into a weapon.

-Oh, and Hydra‘s kinda still a problem, too.

Nov 062015
 

The GoddamnedThe Goddamned #1

-Personally vouched for by Dennis Hopeless as the best script he’s ever read from Jason Aaron.

-Local creator Jason Aaron (Thor, Dr. Strange, Star Wars, Southern Bastards) reteams with R.M. Guera, his artist from Scalped!

-Set nearly 2000 years after the Garden of Eden, The Goddamned takes place on a wild, chaotic, barbaric Earth.  Prior to the flood, humanity is vicious and violent.

-Pitched as Conan meets the Bible.

Limbo #1 (of 6)Limbo

-Take a chance on two creators new to Image Comics!

-Drenched in eighties nostalgia and neon!

-Essentially a detective narrative, Limbo is set in a fictional city that is suffocating the lead character (a P.I. with no memory or name) as he attempts to locate the femme fatale.

-Supernatural elements, like voodoo, collide with crime fiction.

All New All Different AvengersAll New All Different Marvel November Part 1

-There’s so many books coming out from Marvel this week, we had to break them up into two sections!

-Mark Waid’s flagship Avengers series, All New All Different Avengers finally begins!  A completely new team of young heroes, including Ms. Marvel, Nova, and Thor, are unleashed against the Marvel Universe‘s problems.

-All New Hawkeye may have the same creative team, but its cast receives a major shake-up!  Old Clint Barton from the Old Man Logan world teams up with a mature Kate Bishop to right wrongs.

-Speaking of shake-ups, Tom Taylor (Injustice: Gods Among Us, Earth 2, Superior Iron Man) introduces X-23 as Wolverine in All New Wolverine!

All New All Different Marvel November Part 2The Ultimates

-A cult favorite character, madman Cletus Kasady hungers for his blood in the ongoing Carnage series!

-The bad guys are in charge in Al Ewing’s (Loki:  Agent of Asgard, Mighty Avengers, New Avengers) new Illuminati series, starring The Hood, Black Ant (the evil Ant-Man), Enchantress, and other villains scrapping for survival.

-Al Ewing is also launching another Avengers-esque team, The Ultimates.  An eclectic cast, The Ultimates includes Captain Marvel, Black Panther, Galactus (yup, you read that right), and others.

-Finally, Web Warriors is another new Spider-Man family book, featuring Spider-Men from various earths, including everyone’s favorite web slinging lady, Spider-Gwen!

Oct 232015
 

Art OpsArt Ops #1

-Following on the heels of other Vertigo relaunch series, like Survivor’s Club and Clean Room!

-Famed independent artist Michael Allred (Madman, Silver Surfer, FF, iZombies) illustrates the series!

-Art Ops follows a crack team of art thieves, but not in the way you think.

-The Art Ops organization ferries away people and objects, like the Mona Lisa, out of paintings in order to bring them into the real world.

Howling Commandos of SHIELD #1Howling Commandos of Shield

-Spinning out of Mark Waid’s SHIELD #9!

-This series, however, is written by pulp-master extraordinaire, Frank J. Barbiere, author of the excellent Image series Five Ghosts!

-Hidden below S.H.I.E.L.D.’s facilities lies S.T.A.K.E., the secret organization that houses all of the monsters and creatures capture on missions.

-This series will follow a team of those monsters, including Hit Monkey, Man-Thing, and Werewolf by Night, as they are lead on missions by a reanimated Dum Dum Dugan!

Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1Unbeatable Squirrel Girl  #1 (again!)

-As the cover proclaims, only the second #1 issue this year!

-Easily Marvel’s funniest series (Yes, even over Howard the Duck) continues where it left off!

-Doreen already had trouble balancing her superhero and college lives, but now she has to add being a New Avenger to that list.

-She’s beaten Galactus, now who will challenge the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl?

Black Magick #1Black Magick

-Greg Rucka (Star Wars:  Journey to The Force Awakens, Punisher, Gotham Central) launches a mystical noir series at Image Comics!

-Rucka is joined by artist Nicola Scott (Earth 2, Secret Six, Birds of Prey)!

-Rowan Black, the book’s protagonist, works homicide, but the greatest mystery she has to solve is her own past.

-Included with each issue is a serialized prose story by Rucka.

Jul 032015
 

Star Trek Green LanternStar Trek / Green Lantern #1 (of 6)

-Star Trek has had a busy couple of years, meeting the Transformers, the Legion of Superheroes, Doctor Who, and now the Green Lantern CORPS!

-Written by Star Trek ongoing writer, Mike Johnson, this miniseries will see the two franchises interacting with each other.

-The J.J. Abrams versions of the original crew come across a buried artifact that sets off a mission that will bring them into contact with Hal Jordan, Jon Stewart, and the Green Lantern villains.

-Of course, if the good guys are teaming-up, that also means villains like the Klingons and Sinestro will join forces, as well!

Secret Wars Week 1 JulyCivil War

-Slightly delay, all the Secret Wars heavy hitters readers have been waiting for are finally here!

-Leading the way is the Civil War miniseries, featuring a world where Captain America leads one half of the country while Iron Man gets the other half.

-Age of Apocalypse is also dropping this Wednesday, depositing readers back into a world where the despotic mutant rules the world!

-Also releasing are 1872, the Western interpretation of the Marvel Universe, and Spider-Island, where all of New York possesses Spider-Man-like powers!

ArchieArchie #1

-Running consistently for over 600 issues, Archie comics is finally getting a reboot!

-Updating the characters and series for the modern age, Archie comics is appropriating a vibrant, adult art style!

-That new, youthful look is provided by Saga artist extraordinaire, Fionna Staples!

-On writing duties is veteran comic creator Mark Waid (Shield, Daredevil, Kingdom Come)!

Invader Zim #1Invader Zim

-Nickelodeon‘s darkly humored alien invader returns in comic form!

-The entire series will be written and overseen by creator Jhonen Vasquez!

-After Zim has been in hiding for years, he’s rearing his oversized green head to cause trouble for Dib once again!

-Issue #1 will feature a variant cover illustrated by Jhonen Vasquez!