Jan 082016
 

Walking Dead #150Walking Dead #150

-Wow, time flies by when you’re in a zombie apocalypse!  Walking Dead has already made it’s way to issue #150!

-Robert Kirkman celebrates this landmark with an oversized issue for the same price as a standard issue!

-As he did with issue #100, Kirkman has commissioned variant covers from a number of major comic artists!

-Included in that list of cover artists Jason Latour, Ryan E. Ottley, Charlie Adlard, and the long estranged from the book, Tony Moore!

Green Lantern CORPS Edge of Oblivion #1 (of 6)Green Lantern Corps Edge of Oblivion

-Spins out of and continues the story from Green Lantern Lost Army!

-Veteran artist, Ethan Van Sciver (Green Lantern, Flash Reborn, Green Lantern Rebirth), returns to the Green Lantern universe to illustrate all six issues of this miniseries!

-Also returning to DC, Tom Taylor (Injustice, Earth 2, All New Wolverine, Superior Iron Man) will be writing every issue.

-Focusing on all of the Green Lanterns who are not Hal Jordan, Edge of Oblivion finds the CORPS having to escape from a dying universe while protecting a band of refugees.

Death of Wolverine tpbDeath of Wolverine tpb

-The long awaited softcover printing of Death of Wolverine is out next week!

-Find out how the X-Men‘s most famous member bit the big one in this four issue, landmark series!

-Written by Charles Soule (She-Hulk, Swamp Thing, Secret War Civil War, Daredevil)!

-Soule’s story is brought to life by respected artist Steve McNiven (Civil War, Amazing Spider-Man)!

Agents of Shield #1Agents of SHIELD

-Taking the place of Mark Waid’s SHIELD series, Agents of SHIELD now features the entire cast from the popular television show!

-Marc Guggenheim, writer and co-creator of CW‘s Arrow, will be writing the series going forward!

-Coulson is at the heart of this book’s first arc, as his old flame Lola (a person, not a car) comes out of the woodwork to activate a hidden mental boobytrap in Coulson’s mind that turns him into a weapon.

-Oh, and Hydra‘s kinda still a problem, too.

Sep 112015
 

Agent Carter Shield 50th AnniversaryAgent Carter Shield 50th Anniversary #1

-If you loved the Agent Carter television miniseries, check out this one shot!

-Another issue celebrating the 50th anniversary of Shield‘s appearance in the Marvel Universe.

-The team behind Operation S.I.N. (the previous Agent Carter miniseries), Kathryn Immonen (Patsy Walker Hellcat,  Journey into Mystery) and Rich Ellis, return!

-Return to the forties, as Dum Dum Dugan attempts to recruit Peggy Carter to Shield.

Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum #1 Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum

-In the vein of Buck Rogers or Flash Gordon, Jonas Quantum is an old school science adventurer with a little superhero genre thrown in.

-Local artist Freddie Williams III (JSA All-Stars, Robin, Legendary Star-Lord, The Movement) provides interior illustrations for this series!

-Producer and writer of Arrow and veteran comic author, Marc Guggenheim, helms the series.

-Jonas Quantum can cure death, travel through time, and invent all day long.  However, he is not a team player.  And he’s going to need help when outrunning an galactic assassin hired to kill him.

Captain America White #1Captain America White #1 (of 5)

-Over six years in the making, the long awaited Captain America White is finally here!

-Written by Jeph Loeb and illustrated by Tim Sale, the team behind Batman The Long Halloween, Spider-Man Blue, Hulk Grey, Daredevil Yellow, and Catwoman: When in Rome.

-Like the previous Marvel “color” series mentioned above, Captain America White will see Loeb and Sale reinterpret early Captain America stories, modernizing them for contemporary readers.

-Issue one will also include the complete issue zero originally published in 2008!

Tokyo Ghost #1Tokyo Ghost

-Rick Remender, prolific author of Black Science, Low, Deadly Class, Captain America, Axis, and much more, launches a new ongoing series from Image Comics.

-Remender is joined by popular artist, Sean Murphy, who has recently brought you The Wake, Chrononauts, Punk Rock Jesus, and Joe the Barbarian!

-Set in the far future, two techno-organic detectives enforce the requests of gangsters in the cyberpunk future Los Angeles.

-Forced to venture into the last bastion of non-technology in the world, The Gardens of Tokyo, the protagonists have to lose all of their cybernetic enhancements.

Sep 212013
 

Powerpuff Girls #1

-IDW continues its dominance of the young girl audience (see My Little Pony) with Powerpuff Girls #1!

-Cartoonist and storyboard artist Troy Little brings Littletown to life in this first issue on the ongoing series.

-Each issue will feature two covers in a 50:50 ratio.  All the covers come covered in Chemical X.

Rat Queens #1

-It’s the ladies turn to dungeon crawl!

-Kurtis J. Wiebe, the author behind cult hits like Peter Panzerfaust, Debris, and Grim Leaper, joins with Image Comics once again!

-An all-female group of thieves, clerics, and other fantasy folk are hired out on various missions of mayhem in this new ongoing series!

-Pathfinder readers and D&D players take note, this is every great campaign you’ve ever run crammed into a single comic series!

Trial of the Punisher #1

-The start of a lean, mean two issue miniseries that follows up Greg Rucka’s most recent Punisher series.

-Written by former lawyer Marc Guggenheim, Trial of the Punisher will be a tight, gripping, accurate courtroom drama.

-Leinil Francis Yu, current artist of The Avengers, lends his sketchy, active pencils to the series, rendering Frank as gritty as possible.

-Will Frank avoid jail after he’s turned himself in for murdering the District Attorney?  Join the jury and cast your vote!

Sex Criminals #1

-On the heels of Joe Casey’s lurid Sex miniseries, Sex Criminals brings the raunchy to Image Comics!

-Written by hipster comic creator extraordinary Matt Fraction, Sex Criminals #1 is smart, uncommon, and entirely dirty.

-A woman.  A man.  Both can stop time.  With their naughty bits.  Yup.

-When these two meet, criminal hi-jinks ensue, as does the bumping of said naughty bits.  Certainly the for mature readers only!

Nov 242012
 

Say what you will about Arrow on The CW, that it’s Gossip Arrow or Smallville-lite, but the show’s improved as it has continued, often by subverting expectations (He’s arrested by episode four?!).  Now, bridging off the television show is the new Arrow #1 by Marc Guggenheim and Andrew Kreisberg, the creators and head writers of the show, and classic Green Arrow artist Mike Grell.  Before Jeff Lemire revitalizes the current Green Arrow series with issue #17, Arrow #1 can be your go to book for classic fat-cat bashing and Robin Hood-daring Green Arrow adventure.  Plus, the acting’ll be better in your head than it is on the show.

And if we’re talking about classic pulpy comic adventure there is no book that’s ever existed that sums the idea up better than Dynamite‘s Masks miniseries.  Starring a combination of the greatest pulp heroes to be created, that being The Shadow, The Spider, Zorro, The Green Hornet, and Kato, Masks pits this cadre of avengers versus a fascist police state, recently instituted by a corrupt criminal government.  And if that list of pulp heroes isn’t enough, over the course of the series many more characters will join in the fray.  Considering how the epic level of epicness that this series entails, Dynamite had to get an A-list artist to draw the thing.  How about Alex Ross.  Yup, the entirety of issue #1′s interiors are drawn by the legendary artist of Kingdom Come, Marvels, Justice, and about a million iconic covers, Alex Ross, who it also should be noted hasn’t drawn interiors for a comic in about four years.  And if that wasn’t enough, Jae Lee, Francesco Francavilla, and Alex Ross all lend their talents to the book’s various covers.

Get a brohoof ready, because IDW is dropping the sparkly magic this next Wednesday.  That’s right, the cultural phenomenon that is the redux of My Little Pony has now spread to the world of comics.  I know most of you will frown and complain, but, somewhere secretly inside you all is a Bronie waiting to get out.  Well, maybe that’s an overstatement, but they are out there and they are excited about this series.  Featuring four cover variants, one of which is drawn by Jill Thompson, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is written by popular female comic writer, Katie Cook and features all your favorite ponies.  So, overcome you bias and buy one of Twilight Sparkle.

The Fantastic Four has left the planet to whisk their children around the universe on a field trip of different cultures and races, but no worries, they’ll only be gone, to our perspective, for four minutes.  Sounds fine, right?  Did I mention who they’ve left to guard the keys to the castle?  Yeah, just Ant-Man, Medusa, She-Hulk, and a pink-haired celebutant in a Thing suit.  Okay, it may go badly.  With Matt Fraction writing a classic Marvel tale in the main Fantastic Four series, his crazy, post-modern sensibilities have to have somewhere to go and that is FF #1.  Joined by popular alt-artist Mike Allred (Madman, X-Force, Daredevil), this Marvel NOW! series is going to bring the unusual in a very, very good way.