Sep 112015
 

Agent Carter Shield 50th AnniversaryAgent Carter Shield 50th Anniversary #1

-If you loved the Agent Carter television miniseries, check out this one shot!

-Another issue celebrating the 50th anniversary of Shield‘s appearance in the Marvel Universe.

-The team behind Operation S.I.N. (the previous Agent Carter miniseries), Kathryn Immonen (Patsy Walker Hellcat,  Journey into Mystery) and Rich Ellis, return!

-Return to the forties, as Dum Dum Dugan attempts to recruit Peggy Carter to Shield.

Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum #1 Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum

-In the vein of Buck Rogers or Flash Gordon, Jonas Quantum is an old school science adventurer with a little superhero genre thrown in.

-Local artist Freddie Williams III (JSA All-Stars, Robin, Legendary Star-Lord, The Movement) provides interior illustrations for this series!

-Producer and writer of Arrow and veteran comic author, Marc Guggenheim, helms the series.

-Jonas Quantum can cure death, travel through time, and invent all day long.  However, he is not a team player.  And he’s going to need help when outrunning an galactic assassin hired to kill him.

Captain America White #1Captain America White #1 (of 5)

-Over six years in the making, the long awaited Captain America White is finally here!

-Written by Jeph Loeb and illustrated by Tim Sale, the team behind Batman The Long Halloween, Spider-Man Blue, Hulk Grey, Daredevil Yellow, and Catwoman: When in Rome.

-Like the previous Marvel “color” series mentioned above, Captain America White will see Loeb and Sale reinterpret early Captain America stories, modernizing them for contemporary readers.

-Issue one will also include the complete issue zero originally published in 2008!

Tokyo Ghost #1Tokyo Ghost

-Rick Remender, prolific author of Black Science, Low, Deadly Class, Captain America, Axis, and much more, launches a new ongoing series from Image Comics.

-Remender is joined by popular artist, Sean Murphy, who has recently brought you The Wake, Chrononauts, Punk Rock Jesus, and Joe the Barbarian!

-Set in the far future, two techno-organic detectives enforce the requests of gangsters in the cyberpunk future Los Angeles.

-Forced to venture into the last bastion of non-technology in the world, The Gardens of Tokyo, the protagonists have to lose all of their cybernetic enhancements.

Jul 102015
 

Guardians of KnowhereSecret Wars July Week 2

-Undoubtedly the flagship title of this week, Brian Michael Bendis returns to the Guardians of the Galaxy with Guardians of Knowhere #1!  Having survived the universal collapse, the Guardians and the prisoners occupying Knowhere must duke it out in space!

-Al Ewing (Mighty Avengers, Loki Agent of Asgard) will be launching an alternate reality take on his previous series with Captain Britain and the Mighty Avengers #1 (of 2)!

-Rick Remender returns to the Captain America universe with Hail Hydra, where Cap’s son Nomad infiltrate a world ruled by the evil Nazi organization!

-Finally, Siege #1 by Kieron Gillen (Journey into Mystery, Young Avengers, Darth Vader) features characters who have been sentenced to guard The Wall that divides Battleworld from the deadlands!

Book of Death #1 (of 4)Book of Death

-The follow-up to last year’s successful The Valiant miniseries!

-The Eternal Warrior, an immortal defender of Earth, has been tasked to protect the adolescent Geomancer, a young girl who is connected to the Earth’s lifeforce.

-However, the Geomancer has foreseen the future and knows how each of the world’s heroes die.  Now, the combined forces of the Valiant Universe are after her and the Eternal Warrior to discover the secrets.

-Written by Robert Vendetti, the current writer of Green Lantern, X-O Manowar, and the former Demon Knights series.

Island #1Island #1

-If you picked up and enjoyed 8House Arclight, King City, or Multiple Warheads, this series is for you!

-In the vein of Heavy Metal, Island will be an anthology series printed in an oversized magazine format!

-While the primary story is written by Brandon Graham, the other stories will feature a rogues gallery of impressive independent artists.

-Some of the creators featured include Emma Rios (Pretty Deadly), Simon Roy (Prophet), and many more.

Adventure Time Fionna and Cake Card Wars #1 (of 6)Fionna Cake Card Wars

-Ice King‘s fan-fic favorites, Fionna and Cake, are back in this new miniseries!

-Jen Wang, who has previously written Marceline and the Scream Queens, helms this story, too!

-Desperate to find a worthy opponent for Cake in the popular card game, Card Wars, the duo head out on a journey across Ooo!

-SUPER MATHEMATICALLY IMPORTANT:  Each issue of this miniseries will contain an EXCLUSIVE Card Wars card to be incorporated into the popular Adventure Time card game!

Feb 062015
 

Rocket Raccoon v.1 HCRocket Raccoon v.1 HC

-Skottie Young (known for his baby variant covers) writes and illustrates the first arc collected in this hardcover volume.

-This first volume contains issues one through six of the highly popular ongoing series.

-In the first story, Rocket is being hunted down by all of his vengeful ex-girlfriends.  This raccoon gets around!

-Following that story, Rocket, Groot, and some other aliens share campfire stories.  Oh, and it’s Groot‘s turn, so the whole issue uses “I am Groot!” as the only lines of dialog.

Empty #1Empty #1

-The creator of Bomb Queen and Five Weapons, Jimmie Robinson, launches a new series from Image Comics.

-Anyone who reads Planetary, Copperhead, or any other post-apocalyptic or grungy Sci-Fi series should check this out.

-A young, female scavenger, named Tanoor, joins forces with a stranger who has the power to restore the dead world they live on.

-Like a road movie across an apocalyptic wasteland.

The Sculptor HCThe Sculptor GN

-Respected comic theorist, artist, and writer, Scott McCloud (Understanding Comics) is releasing his first work in years!

-The Sculptor follows the titular character as he is granted special abilities from Death to have anything he sculpts come to life.  The catch, he only has 200 days to live.

-Having recently published hits like Seconds, This One Summer, and other 2014 hits, :01 First Second publishing is on a role.

-Check out what is sure to be one of the most talked about graphic novels of 2015!

Darth Vader #1Star Wars Darth Vader #1

-Marvel‘s second Star Wars launch title!

-Star Wars #1 sold out nearly immediately, with variant and regular covers shooting up in price!  You better believe Darth Vader will do the same.

-Kieron Gillen (Young Avengers, The Wicked and the Divine, Journey into Mystery), one of the most literary comic authors working today, is working on one of the most iconic characters in history!

-Following the events of A New Hope, Darth Vader will see the Sith Lord gunning for the rebel forces that left him stranded in space after the destruction of the first Death Star.

Nov 282014
 

Wolf Moon #1Wolf Moon #1 (of 6)

-Two Missouri comic creators join forces for this new horror miniseries from DC!

-St. Louis’ Cullen Bunn, writer of Sixth Gun, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Sinestro, and Helheim, authors the miniseries!

-Kansas City’s own Jeremy Haun lends his moody pencils to the comic’s interior pages!

-Bunn and Haun blend together a werewolf and revenge stories for a uniquely violent and vengeful tale.

Secret Six #1Secret Six #1

-Gail Simone returns to the series that helped to make her name in the industry!

-Similar to the Suicide Squad, the Secret Six are a covert, underground team of lower rent supervillains who deal in the weird, mysterious corners of the DC Universe.

-Joining Simone is comic artist veteran Ken Lashley, who has previously lent his pencils to the New 52 Superman:  Doomed and Batman/Superman series.

-Catman returns to the DC Universe!

Cross One Hundred +100Crossed + 100 #1 (of 6)

-Alan Moore (Watchmen, V for Vendetta, From Hell) returns to Avatar for a new Crossed miniseries event!

-The legendary comic book writer enters into the twisted post-apocalyptic world created by Garth Ennis for the first time!

-Set one hundred years into the future of the Crossed outbreak, Crossed +100 follows a young girl who is researching the original disease (as it has long been wiped out) only discover a pack of Crossed still alive!

-No previous knowledge of the Crossed storyline is necessary to read this miniseries!

Angela Asgard’s Assassin #1Angela Asgard's Assassin

-Revealed as Thor‘s sister, Neil Gaiman’s Angela is on a mission to discover her origins!

-Raised in Heaven, the tenth realm, Angela has hated Asgard her entire life, but now it has become her home.  She travels across the tens realms at the behest of Odin, slaying he needs slayed.

-Kieron Gillen (Journey into Mystery, Wicked and Divine, Young Avengers) and Marguerite Bennett (Lois Lane, Earth 2 World’s End, Batman) team up for writing duties on the series!

-The art for the series is also a dual effort, featuring the combined talents of Phil Jimenez and Stephanie Hans!

Aug 242013
 

Masks v.1 tpb

-The Shadow + Zorro + The Spider + Green Hornet + Kato = Best.  Crossover.  Ever!

-Alex Ross not only lends his unmatched artistic talents to the first issue, he also delivers on multiple covers for the series, too, all of which are included in this collection.

-These pulp heroes must unite to fight off the corrupt government of 1938 New York!

-The entire eight issue series, plus extras, is included in this single, oversized volume!

Young Avengers v.1 tpb

-All the fan favorite Young Avenger characters are back and filled with more adolescent angst than ever!

-Kieron Gillen brings the same pop infused vibrancy that made Phonogram the cult hit that it was!  The Young Avengers are officially teenagers now, and they party, drink, quarrel, and sleep around like everyone at that age.

-Jamie McKelvie, formerly of Phonogram, X-Men Season One, and Secret Avengers, makes this book sing, as far as artwork goes, pulling out expressive “performances” from all the characters.

-Oh, and for that extra bit of dissent, the reason all the characters get back together is due to the machinations of Kid Loki!  Fans of Gillen Journey into Mystery take note!

Itty Bitty Hellboy #1

-The masters of cute behind Tiny Titans and Superman Family Adventures jump companies to make Hellboy more adorable than ever!

-Anyone familiar with Art Balthazar and Franco’s Tiny Titans should expect the same comic-strip style of storytelling, perfect for younger audiences!

-Any parent who hopes to get their kids into Hellboy, but may be hesitant about the main book’s content can use Itty Bitty as an entry point.

-Did I mention the cuteness?

Guardians of the Galaxy v.1 HC

-Meet the entire cast of next year’s Marvel hit film, including Starlord, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, and Groot.

-Brian Michael Bendis (Uncanny X-Men, All-New X-Men) plays up the action and banter of the Guardians team with his witty writing style.

-Iron Man also joins the team early on, linking the Marvel interstellar universe with the main universe.

-Did I mention the raccoon with the nasty attitude and matching gigantic gun?