Aug 142015
 

Secret Wars Secret LoveSecret Wars Secret Love #1

-Traditional Marvel romances are off the table with this Secret Wars alternate reality affair!

-A special one-shot in the vein of Secret Wars Battleworld and Secret Wars Journal, Secret Love will contain multiple stories by different creative teams.

-Fans of Kamala Khan/Ms. Marvel and Robbie Reyes/Ghost Rider will want to check this out, as the two young heroes will be locking lips!

-A slew of up-and-coming talent will be illustrating and writing each of these stories.

Howard the Human #1Howard the Human

-Another Secret Wars one-shot!

-Written by artist and writer extraordinaire, Skottie Young (Rocket Raccoon).

-Since everything is all backwards thanks to Secret Wars, Howard is no longer a duck, but the last human in a world of animals.

-If you need another reason to check this book out, just check out that beautiful seventies ‘stache on Howard!

Welcome BackWelcome Back #1

-An original Sci-Fi action series from Boom! Studios.

-Written by Christopher Sebela, writer of the Escape from New York and Prometheus comics, helms this original idea.

-Two immortal assassins have carried out an endless war with each other across centuries and different bodies.

-Now, one of them remembers her past lives and must outrace her opposite number before she dies again.

House of M #1 (of 4)House of M #1

-The newest work from KC and Pulp‘s own, Dennis Hopeless!

-A four issue, Secret Wars miniseries told in the style of Rashomon (i.e. same story, different perspectives).

-The Human Resistance force has a few (rather aggressive) bones to pick with the leader of the world, Magneto!

-When Magneto rules the world, what secrets lie below his castle?

May 152015
 

Planet Hulk Secret Wars BattleworldPlanet Hulk #1 (Secret Wars Battleworld)

-It’s all Secret Wars all night tonight!

-If you’ve read Secret Wars #2 you know that the Marvel Universe is a drastically different place right now.  Each of these miniseries will explore unique locations on the Battleworld map!

-Planet Hulk returns readers to the world of that epic storyline, written by the original writer, Greg Pak!

-In Battleworld The Hulk rules Greenland and is feared by all other regions.  The question is:  who will he smash?!

Spider-Verse #1 (Secret Wars Battleworld)Spider-Verse #1 Secret Wars Battleworld

-All your favorite Spider-Peeps are back!

-Even though Spider-Gwen is continuing throughout Secret Wars, you can get a second helping her as she stars in this Spider-Verse miniseries.

-Spider-Gwen, Spider-Man Noir, Spider-Ham, and more team up to take down Battleworld’s Norman Osborn!

-Long time comic writer, Mike Costa (GI Joe Cobra, God is Dead, Avengers Millennium), helms this miniseries!

Secret Wars BattleworldSecret Wars Battleworld #1 (of 4)

-Akin to AvX Versus, this miniseries will feature two stories each issue written and illustrated by different creative teams.

-Issue one will feature stories crafted by independent superstars Joshua Williamson (Ghosted, Birthright) and Ed Brisson (Sheltered).

-This first story features The Punisher possessed by Doctor Strange on the run from alternate reality versions of Spider-Man, Ghost Rider, Hulk, and Wolverine!

-Following that will be a tale of complete insanity featuring every version of M.O.D.O.K. assembled under one roof!

A-Force #1 (Secret Wars Battleworld)A Force Secret Wars Battleworld

-If you don’t believe women read, write, or star in comic books, A-Force is here to prove you wrong!

-Co-written by the duo of G. Willow Wilson (Ms. Marvel, X-Men) and Marguerite Bennett (Batman, Batgirl), A-Force is one of the most exciting series to launch out of Secret Wars!

-Taking place of The Avengers, A-Force consists of every female character from Marvel‘s history, including She-Hulk, Rogue, Ms. Marvel, The Invisible Woman, Captain Marvel, Spider-Woman, and more!

-These women will be defending the world against monsters and on the run from the Thor Corps that polices Battleworld!

Jan 092015
 

Adventure Time Marceline Gone AdriftAdventure Time Marceline Gone Adrift #1

-She is the vampire queen of Ooo and she has been launched into space by her former best friend, Princess Bubblegum!

-Following up the popular Marceline and the Scream Queens miniseries, this miniseries also weird, deep mythology of the cartoon.

-Meredith Gran, who also wrote Scream Queens, returns to pen this story!

-Finn and Jake are alright, but, let’s be honest, Marceline is everyone’s favorite.

Boom Box Mix Tape #1Boom Box Mix Tape 2014

-Boom Studios has earned a reputation as the publisher of quirky, colorful artistry and this first Mix Tape showcases that.

-An oversized issue, the Boom Box Mix Tape features short stories from a number of Boom‘s most popular comics.

-Included within this hefty issue are stories from Lumberjanes, Teen Dog, The Midas Flesh, and Cyanide & Happiness!

-In addition, this issue will feature the first Munchkin comic book story by John Kovalic, leading up to the new Munchkin ongoing series!

Conan Red SonjaConan Red Sonja #1

-Fan favorite writers Gail Simone (Batgirl, Secret Six, Red Sonja) and Jim Zub (Wayward, Skullkickers) join forces to join the forces of Red Sonja and Conan!

-The two warriors combine their battle-hardened skills in order to track down and defeat a mad sorcerer before he unleashes a world ending war.

-Not a traditionally linear story, Conan/Red Sonja sees the two heroes jump through various ages and time periods!

-Given that both of these authors have received accolades for their work on these or similar characters, this storyline should prove fun and excited.

Star Wars #1Star Wars #1

-After many years, the Star Wars license is back where it started:  Marvel Comics!

-The beginning of a new ongoing series, Star Wars #1 is written by Kansas City resident, Jason Aaron (Thor, Ghost Rider, Southern Bastards, Men of Wrath) and drawn by John Cassaday (Uncanny Avengers, Astonishing X-Men, Captain America).

-The series will take place between the events of A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, as the rebellion begins to rise up against the Empire.

-If you want variant covers, this book gives you variant covers!  Pulp will have a whopping eleven different covers, including a gorgeous painted variant by Alex Ross!

Apr 052014
 

UPDATE: Purchase a copy of Original Sin from this Wednesday (May 7th) through the signing on May 14th and get entered to win a prize signed by Jason Aaron, Cullen Bunn, or Dennis Hopeless! Three prizes, one for each author, will be awarded!

Celebrate Pulp Fiction’s 10th Anniversary Year with a Marvel writer trifecta! Jason, Cullen, and Dennis have been generous enough to coordinate their schedules for a signing at Pulp on May 14th! Each author has recently released an All New Marvel NOW series, so be sure to bring your issues to get signed. Also be sure to bring in any back issues or TPBs these guys have worked on previously. We’ve included a list of notable series by these authors below as a reminder:

Jason Aaron: Ghost Rider, Wolverine, Avengers vs. X-Men, Wolverine & the X-Men, Scalped, Thanos Rising, The Other Side, Thor God of Thunder, and Original Sin.

Cullen Bunn: Helheim, Sixth Gun, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Deadpool Killustrated, Deadpool Kills Deadpool, Night of the Living Deadpool, The Fearless Defenders, Deadpool vs. Carnage, Sinestro, and Magneto.

Dennis Hopeless: Gearhead, Lovestruck, X-Men: Season One, Legion of Monsters, The Answer, Avengers Arena, Cable and X-Force, and Avengers Undercover.

Nov 102012
 

You all better get used to hearing about Marvel Comics over the next couple of months, because Marvel NOW! is in effect.  Tonight we’ll highlight three of the five new Marvel NOW! series that start up this coming Wednesday, all of which are perfect jumping-on points for each of the book’s characters.

Since they’re the first family of the Marvel Universe, let’s start off with Fantastic Four #1.  Combining classic with current, Mark Bagley (Ultimate Spider-Man), a veteran of both Marvel and DC comics, lends his artistic talents to wordsmith Matt Fraction (Defenders, Fear Itself, Hawkeye, Immortal Iron Fist) for a fresh take on Marvel‘s oldest series.  Wanting to get away from the constant battles with Doctor Doom and Galactus, Reed and Sue Richards decide to take their family on a universe-spanning field trip.  The series will take a stand-alone approach to its issues, as the Fantastic Four land on a new planet or time period in each issue, getting into trouble each time as they try to teach Valeria and Franklin about the ins-and-outs of the galaxy.  And if you’re less of a reader and more of a collector, Fantastic Four #1 has variant covers in spades.  That’s a Scottie Young Baby variant, a Mark Bagley mural variant, a blank variant, and a couple more for good measure.

Brian Michael Bendis carved himself out a fairly comfortable niche in The Avengers corner of the Marvel Universe over the last ten years, so now it’s time for him to do the same with the X-Men.  All-New X-Men #1, his first X-Book, tells a story no other X-Men book has dared to tell before.  With the fallout of Avengers vs. X-Men, Cyclops and many of the original X-Men members are in drastically different positions from where they started, thus Beast decides to travel back in time, collect the original X-Men members, and bring them to the future to knock some sense into their present-day selves.  With art by the incomparable Stuart Immonen (Nextwave, Ultimate X-Men), All-New X-Men will look great and read crisply.

If you pick up only one of the Marvel NOW! series starting this month, pick-up Thor, God of Thunder.  Jason Aaron (Wolverine and the X-Men, Scalped, Ghost Rider), local writer, dares to tell a Thor epic to rival the classic tales of Walt Simonson.  A three-pronged narrative focuses on Thor of the past, Thor of the present, and King Thor of the future as all three versions contend with a threat the Asgardian has never faced before:  A serial killer of gods.  Along with Aaron’s time-spanning story, Esad Ribic’s (Silver Surfer: Requiem) painterly artwork turns the comic page into a mural, turning a simple comic book into a piece of mythology.  And since of book of this quality deserves it, variant covers abound, featuring artwork from Ribic himself, Scottie Young, and Daniel Arcuna.  Make yourself worthy of Mjölnir a pick up a copy.

Just as a reminder that there are other comic book publishers out there other than Marvel, let’s finish the night with a look at a new series from Image Comics.  Riding a wave of successful series like Manhattan Projects, Saga, Happy, and Revival, Image releases Great Pacific, a grand adventure in an unusual location.  Texas-born Chas Worthington is a trust-fund baby and a grade-A rich boy, inheriting the money of his oil baron father, but that doesn’t mean he has no principles.  Setting out to tackle a task unheard of in his social circle, Chas decides to eliminate the Great Pacific Garbage Patch, a floating mass of trash that continues to build in the North Pacific Ocean (it’s a real thing).  Martin Morazzo’s extremely detailed artwork renders every bit of debris and filth that Joe Harris’ scripts describe, making this another Image book to admire.