Oct 232015
 

Art OpsArt Ops #1

-Following on the heels of other Vertigo relaunch series, like Survivor’s Club and Clean Room!

-Famed independent artist Michael Allred (Madman, Silver Surfer, FF, iZombies) illustrates the series!

-Art Ops follows a crack team of art thieves, but not in the way you think.

-The Art Ops organization ferries away people and objects, like the Mona Lisa, out of paintings in order to bring them into the real world.

Howling Commandos of SHIELD #1Howling Commandos of Shield

-Spinning out of Mark Waid’s SHIELD #9!

-This series, however, is written by pulp-master extraordinaire, Frank J. Barbiere, author of the excellent Image series Five Ghosts!

-Hidden below S.H.I.E.L.D.’s facilities lies S.T.A.K.E., the secret organization that houses all of the monsters and creatures capture on missions.

-This series will follow a team of those monsters, including Hit Monkey, Man-Thing, and Werewolf by Night, as they are lead on missions by a reanimated Dum Dum Dugan!

Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1Unbeatable Squirrel Girl  #1 (again!)

-As the cover proclaims, only the second #1 issue this year!

-Easily Marvel’s funniest series (Yes, even over Howard the Duck) continues where it left off!

-Doreen already had trouble balancing her superhero and college lives, but now she has to add being a New Avenger to that list.

-She’s beaten Galactus, now who will challenge the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl?

Black Magick #1Black Magick

-Greg Rucka (Star Wars:  Journey to The Force Awakens, Punisher, Gotham Central) launches a mystical noir series at Image Comics!

-Rucka is joined by artist Nicola Scott (Earth 2, Secret Six, Birds of Prey)!

-Rowan Black, the book’s protagonist, works homicide, but the greatest mystery she has to solve is her own past.

-Included with each issue is a serialized prose story by Rucka.

Sep 112015
 

Agent Carter Shield 50th AnniversaryAgent Carter Shield 50th Anniversary #1

-If you loved the Agent Carter television miniseries, check out this one shot!

-Another issue celebrating the 50th anniversary of Shield‘s appearance in the Marvel Universe.

-The team behind Operation S.I.N. (the previous Agent Carter miniseries), Kathryn Immonen (Patsy Walker Hellcat,  Journey into Mystery) and Rich Ellis, return!

-Return to the forties, as Dum Dum Dugan attempts to recruit Peggy Carter to Shield.

Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum #1 Infinite Adventures of Jonas Quantum

-In the vein of Buck Rogers or Flash Gordon, Jonas Quantum is an old school science adventurer with a little superhero genre thrown in.

-Local artist Freddie Williams III (JSA All-Stars, Robin, Legendary Star-Lord, The Movement) provides interior illustrations for this series!

-Producer and writer of Arrow and veteran comic author, Marc Guggenheim, helms the series.

-Jonas Quantum can cure death, travel through time, and invent all day long.  However, he is not a team player.  And he’s going to need help when outrunning an galactic assassin hired to kill him.

Captain America White #1Captain America White #1 (of 5)

-Over six years in the making, the long awaited Captain America White is finally here!

-Written by Jeph Loeb and illustrated by Tim Sale, the team behind Batman The Long Halloween, Spider-Man Blue, Hulk Grey, Daredevil Yellow, and Catwoman: When in Rome.

-Like the previous Marvel “color” series mentioned above, Captain America White will see Loeb and Sale reinterpret early Captain America stories, modernizing them for contemporary readers.

-Issue one will also include the complete issue zero originally published in 2008!

Tokyo Ghost #1Tokyo Ghost

-Rick Remender, prolific author of Black Science, Low, Deadly Class, Captain America, Axis, and much more, launches a new ongoing series from Image Comics.

-Remender is joined by popular artist, Sean Murphy, who has recently brought you The Wake, Chrononauts, Punk Rock Jesus, and Joe the Barbarian!

-Set in the far future, two techno-organic detectives enforce the requests of gangsters in the cyberpunk future Los Angeles.

-Forced to venture into the last bastion of non-technology in the world, The Gardens of Tokyo, the protagonists have to lose all of their cybernetic enhancements.