May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

May 162014
 

Pathfinder City of Secrets #1Pathfinder City of Secrets #1 (of 6)

-Jim Zub, writer of fantasy series like Skullkickers and the previous Pathfinder series, returns to GM this miniseries.

-An entirely new Pathfinder series, City of Secrets is a fresh entry point for new readers!

-The party ventures into Magnimar, a magical city that threatens to tear the group apart!

-As with the previous series, each issue will contain a unique, playable Pathfinder encounter and foldout map.

The Movement v.1 tpb The Movement v.1 tpb

-Gail Simone’s most recent DC Comics series gains its first eight issue trade paperback, featuring an ensemble of original characters created by Simone herself!

-In Coral City, the police are out of control, harming citizens more than helping.  The Movement is out to change that.

-Local artist Freddie E. Williams III joins Simone, delivering a kinetic, action-packed artistry to the series!

-Finishing last week with issue #12, The Movement v.1 acts as the first half of a complete story that introduces exciting new characters to the DC Universe.

MPH #1MPH #1

-Mark Millar expands his control on the world of comics a little further with this ongoing series!

-Millar brings the same cynical grimness and dark humor he did with Kick-Ass, Superior, and Wanted to this Image comic!

-What happens when a gang of inner city teens discover a drug called MPH that grants them super speed?  $#*! gonna get F’ed up!

-Drawing a fine line between hero and criminal, the teens of MPH explore the how with great power, creates great corruptibility.

Black Canary and Zatanna Bloodspell HCBlack Canary and Zatanna Blood Spell HC

-Paul Dini, creator of Batman:  The Animated Series, returns to comics for this original graphic novel!

-In the works for over three years, Bloodspell is a long awaited team-up book featuring the pre-New 52 Black Canary and Zatanna.

-The incredible Joe Quinones, of FF, Captain Marvel, and The Spectacular Spider-Man fame, illustrates the entire graphic novel in his distinct, cartoony style!

-A year after infiltrating a cult of female magicians, Black Canary is haunted by their ghosts, a threat that requires the assistance of her close friend Zatanna.

May 022014
 

Amazing Spider-Man #1.1Amazing Spider-Man #1.1 ANMN

-Dan Slott can’t get enough of Spider-Man, as he’s launching a second ongoing series!

-Helping to fill that void left in all Peter Parker fans’ hearts over the last year, this series is all Peter, all the time.

-Set during Peter’s first year as the Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man, this series will reveal his first struggles with supervillains and balancing his identities.

-Critically acclaimed artist Ramon Perez joins Slott in revealing the details about Peter’s early years.

Cyclops #1 ANMNCyclops #1

-Greg Rucka (Punisher, GCPD, Wonder Woman) returns to Marvel Comics!

-If you weren’t aware, there are two Cyclopses running around the Marvel Universe right now, one from the past, one from the present.  The past Cyclops stars in this series, trying to reconnect with his father.

-Cyclops and Corsair (his dad) are on a vast road trip through the stars!

-Sci-Fi adventure is this series middle name, sending Scott Summers across the galaxy as he’s corrupted by his space pirate father.

Future's End #1Future’s End #1

-If you’ve been loving the cliffhanger filled weekly series, Batman Eternal, Future’s End is the next DC weekly to blow your mind!

-Decimated after a war with another world (a story which will factor into the next DC weekly), the DC universe has no heroes to defend itself from an infesting technology.

-Terry McGinnis, Batman Beyond himself, makes his first in continuity appearance in the DC universe, as he travels back to the past in order to save the future.

-Who will rise up to help protect the future?

Original Sin #1 (of 8)Original Sin #1

-Jason Aaron helms this summer’s major Marvel mystery miniseries!  And that means you’ll be able to get issue #1 signed at Pulp Fiction on May 14th!

-Uatu The Watcher is dead.  Who had reason to kill him?  Everyone!

-The Marvel Universe attempts to solve this mystery, but it may lead to a result no one wants to hear.  Each major Marvel character is hiding a sin that justifies the murder of The Watcher, but who actually did it?

-Anyone who purchases a copy of the book will get to sign their name on an Original Sin eyeball, which will then be deposited in a jar for Jason Aaron, Dennis Hopeless, and Cullen Bunn to draw out.  Each winner will receive a special prize, signed by their respected author!

Apr 182014
 

Elektra #1 ANMNElektra #1 ANMN

-Hot on the heels of the popular female assassin book, Black Widow, comes an ongoing series for Marvel‘s premiere lady killer.

-Now that DC has scared Haden Blackman off of Batwoman, he’s crossed the street to Marvel to helm this series.

-Michael Del delivers a frenetic, painterly style on covers and interiors, perfect for a fluid assassin like Elektra.

-In the first arc, Elektra attempts to change who she is, but will have to ward off monsters and other top assassins to do so.

24 #124 #1

-Just in time for Jack Bauer’s return to television, IDW has launched a new 24 ongoing series!

-Fill in the time between the end of the last season and Live Another Day with this series.

-Ed Brisson has been accumulating a number of critically acclaimed series of late, including Sheltered, Comeback, and The Field, and now brings his A-game to this property.

-Brisson is joined on art duties by industry veteran Michael Gaydos, whose moody style brought crime and spy series, like Alias, to life.

Original Sin #0Original Sin #0

-Marvel‘s next big summer event begins here!

-Someone wants Uatu the Watcher dead for something he’s seen.  This prequel sets up what they may be and offers Uatu‘s last will and testament as he speaks with Nova.

-Though Jason Aaron isn’t writing this introductory issue, one of the only writers good enough to replace him, Mark Waid, is helming the issue.

-Jim Cheung, as he did with last year’s Infinity, provides art for this introductory issue.

Justice League United #0Justice League United #0

-Though DC has changed the title of this book, we all still know, at its heart, it is Justice League Canada.

-Jeff Lemire may have concluded his popular Animal Man series, but Buddy Baker is sticking around for this team book.  He’s bringing along Star Girl, Martian Manhunter, Supergirl, Green Arrow, Adam Strange, and Hawkman.

-After Forever Evil leaves the DC universe in tatters, Adam Strange is left to assemble a rag-tag band of heroes to help him defend the galaxy.

-Lemire promises to bring the heart and character of the Animal Man series and the galactic mystery and grandeur of Trillium!

Apr 112014
 

Hulk #1 ANMNHulk #1 ANMN

-Mark Waid (Daredevil, Kingdom Come) restarts the Indestructible Hulk with an entirely new direction!

-Mark Bagley of Ultimate Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, and just-about-everything-else-fame joins Waid on Hulk #1!

-At the end of the previous Hulk series, Bruce Banner was left on the edge of death, fighting his mortality as the Hulk side attempted to take control.

-Who will win out at the beginning of this series?  And how badly will they destroy the rest of the Marvel Universe?

Sinestro #1Sinestro #1

-Green Lantern‘s greatest villain gains his own ongoing series!

-Having lost his precious Yellow Lantern CORPS, his family, and his reputation, Sinestro has nothing more to lose as he goes up against Lyssa Drak, his former protege.

-Dale Eaglesham, prominent Marvel artist, has jumped ship to DC to draw this major release!

-As well, Cullen Bunn will be writing, which means you need to grab a copy so that you can bring it back on May 14th and get it signed by Bunn, when he, Jason Aaron, and Dennis Hopeless are here!

Sex Criminals v.1 tpbSex Criminals v.1 tpb

-If you’ve ever thought about pooping in your boss’ flowerpot to get revenge, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-If you’ve ever found porn in the woods, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-If you’ve ever tried the Dutch Microwave, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky have created one of the best books at Image Comics right now, largely because of its open exploration of sex and romantic relationships, but also because it stars one of the most realistic female characters in comics today!

Translucid #1 (of 6)Translucid #1

-Claudio Sanchez, lead singer and songwriter of Coheed and Cambria, returns to comics this week!

-Never before has Sanchez ventured into the realm of superhero comics. . .until now!

-BOOM! Studios continues to pair Sanchez with great, young artists, and this time has assigned Daniel Bayliss to bring his ideas to fruition.

-If you’ve read Key of ZKill Audio, and the Amory Wars comics, then Translucid is what you need to complete your library!