Aug 152014
 

Fade Out #1Fade Out #1 

-Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips, the team behind Fatale, Criminal, Incognito, and Sleeper return to Image Comics for another neo-noir ongoing series!

-Set in Hollywood during the late forties, Fade Out follows a film production slowly going off the rails.

-The first issue is oversized at forty pages, but only costs the regular Image price of $3.50!

-Don’t wait for the trade paperback, because, like Sex Criminals and Saga, the single issues will feature bonus articles and letters pages only found there!

Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #1Sensation Comics #1

-A second ongoing Wonder Woman series launches this week!

-Gail Simone returns to the character she was born to write!

-Ethan Van Sciver, artist of Green Lantern, Flash Rebirth, and Batman The Dark Knight, pairs with Simone to lend a heightened darkness to the story!

-With the Batman family unable to respond, Wonder Woman is forced to come to Gotham City in order to lasso up some of Batman‘s worst foes before they take over the city.

Little Nemo Return to SlumberlandLittle Nemo Return to Slumberland #1 

-Winsor McKay’s beloved and acclaimed comic strip is back with an entirely new story!

-IDW has commissioned top quality creators to carry on McKay’s legacy, matching the unrivaled artistic endeavor that was the original.

-Eric Shanower, writer of Marvel‘s Wizard of Oz‘s children’s series, and Gabriel Rodriguez, the exceptional artist of Locke & Key, join forces on this miniseries.

-An all-ages story, Return to Slumberland sees Nemo being pulled back into Slumberland as an indentured playmate for the Princess of Dreams.

Multiversity #1Multiversity #1

-Grant Morrison’s long gestating miniseries about the 52 alternate realities of the DC Universe finally comes to fruition!

-The miniseries will be comprised of two bookend one-shots (this being the first), six single issue stories, and a guidebook of the multiverse itself.

-Each issue will feature a different artist, depicting each world in a unique style in order to differentiate them.  Issue #1 features the work of Ivan Reis, the artist behind Blackest Night, Green Lantern, and Justice League.

-The Superman of Earth-23, who also happens to be president, joins forces with heroes from other worlds to form a multiversal Justice League in order to combat a universe ending threat!

Jul 252014
 

Bodies #1Bodies #1 (of 8)

-Like a British version of True Detective.

-Si Spencer, the British writer of various Judge Dredd, Hellblazer, and Doctor Who comics, weaves a decade spanning crime mystery.

-Bodies is set in four different time periods, ranging from the 1890s to 2050, each with their own detective attempting to solve a homicide.

-Each time period is also drawn by a different artist, giving a distinct tone to each story.

Hugh Howey’s Wool #1 (of 6)Hugh Howey's Woold #1

-A graphic novel adaptation of the New York Times bestselling novel!

-What began as a single short story has grown into a series of novellas and now a comic book adaptation.

-The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where the remnants of society live in a 100-story deep silo.  Or is it that simple?  Wool is a story of nearly constant twists and turns, leaving the reader desperate for answers.

-Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti (Jonah Hex, All-Star Western, Harley Quinn) and Jimmy Broxton (Knight and Squire) are handling the adaptation, with Darwyn Cooke on covers.

Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1

-Everyone’s favorite secret agent chicken is back!

-The Chew guys don’t skimp on one-shots, as both John Layman and Rob Guillory are not passing writing and art duties off to fill-in creators.

-The last Poyo one shot vanished off the shelves nearly as quick as it arrived, making it a sought after collectible

-Adding to the collector’s value of this issue, Poyo crosses paths with Robert Kirkman’s Walking Dead cast, so you know that’s going to have some after-market value.

Low #1Low #1

-Another new series from Rick Remender, who after Black Science, Captain America, Uncanny Avengers, and Marvel‘s upcoming Axis miniseries, is on a creative roll!

-Basically, a Bioshock comic book series.

-Low takes place on an Earth that has been so irradiated by the explosion of our sun that humanity has moved under the ocean for protection.

-Greg Tocchini’s gorgeous painterly artwork adds another beautiful comic series to the already populated list of capably illustrated Image Comics series.

Jul 182014
 

Storm #1Storm #1

-Greg Pak, writer of Batman/Superman and Planet Hulk, jumps back to Marvel for this ongoing series.

-Acting as an ambassador for the mutant race, Storm will travel the globe encountering and overcoming evil and oppression as she goes.

-Each issue will feature a one-and-done story, each building to a larger arc.

-Victor Ibanez, a veteran of Wonder Woman, Zatanna, Swamp Thing, and Robin, joins Pak as artist on the series.

Doctor Who 10th & 11th #1 (Titan Comics)Doctor Who #1 10th 11th Titan

-August sees the return of The Doctor with the beginning of Peter Capaldi’s era, but, before that, 10 and 11 are back in the TARDIS.

-Titan Comics now owns the rights to the Doctor Who comics and begins their legacy with a dual launch of two ongoing series, one featuring David Tennant’s 10th Doctor, the other Matt Smith’s 11th Doctor.

-In the 10th Doctor series, The Doctor discovers a new companion during the Day of the Dead.

-Taking place right after the end of season five, the 11th Doctor series is written by Al Ewing, author of some great current Marvel series, including Mighty Avengers and Loki, Agent of Asgard.

Supreme Blue Rose #1Supreme Blue Rose #1

-Warren Ellis, author of Trees, Moon Knight, and Transmetropolitan, launches another new Image Comics series!

-Re-imaging a character created by Alan Moore, Ellis remakes Supreme, a Superman analog, for a new age.

-Ellis is joined by Tula Lotay, an up-and-coming artist, whose painterly, water colored style

-Underneath the surface of reality lies a secret organization that controls the parameters of the world.  They will stop at nothing to find Ethan Crane.

Avengers 100th Anniversary #1Avengers 100th Anniversary

-If you only buy one of the 100th Anniversary specials, make it this one!

-The Avengers of 2061 are drastically different than the current iteration, featuring Beta Ray Bill, Rogue, and others.

-Earth has fought off invasions, been swallowed up by the Negative Zone, and overrun by moleoids.  What will The Avengers face next?

-The true reason to pick this one-shot up is the gloriously surreal artwork by James Stoke, author and creator of Wonton Soup and Ork Stain.

Jun 132014
 

All New X-Factor v.1 tpbAll New X-Factor v.1 tpb

-Out with the old Peter David, in with the new Peter David!  Having written X-Factor for nearly a decade, David can’t walk away from the book, returning to launch an All New X-Factor!

-The only corporate sponsored X-Team out there, X-Factor has the technology and finances of Serval Industries behind them.  However, that may not be a great thing.

-Comprised of Quicksilver, Polaris (both Magneto‘s children), Danger, Warlock, and Gambit, X-Factor is a character-driven comic, to be sure.

-What is Gambit‘s secret?  And will it bring down the team?

Avengers World v.1 tpbAvengers World v.1 tpb

-Jonathan Hickman adds the Avengers World ongoing series to finish off a trifecta of Avengers comics, each connecting into the other.

-World sees The Avengers going toe-to-toe with A.I.M., a secret organization of science terrorists who have declared themselves a separate nation, across the globe.

-Each issue is character-centric, with Hickman fleshing out his extensive Avengers cast while giving the reader insight into their personal conflicts.

-Oh, and Shang-Chi fights an evil ninja on top of a dragon.  ’Nuff said.

Velvet v.1 tpbVelvet v.1 tpb

-James Bond fans should take a look at Velvet.

-Velvet Templeton is a Miss Moneypenny-like secretary for the British Secret Service, but have the agency’s top man is found dead, she becomes the prime suspect.  Now she must clear her name if she hopes to survive.

-Created and written by the same team that wrote Captain America:  The Winter Soldier comic storyline, the series is a great espionage book by creators who know how to write spy fiction.

-And Image Comics provides this first volume to readers for only $9.99!

Amazing X-Men v.1 tpbAmazing X-Men v.1 tpb

-Local comic writing genius, Jason Aaron, returns to the X-Men universe!

-Dead for the last five or so years, fan-favorite character Nightcrawler was due for a return to the land of the living.  This volume explains how that happens!

-Join Wolverine, Storm, Ice Man, and others as they venture into the realms of the afterlife in order to rescue their departed ally.

-Oh, and there are demon pirates standing in their way!

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!