Jul 252014
 

Bodies #1Bodies #1 (of 8)

-Like a British version of True Detective.

-Si Spencer, the British writer of various Judge Dredd, Hellblazer, and Doctor Who comics, weaves a decade spanning crime mystery.

-Bodies is set in four different time periods, ranging from the 1890s to 2050, each with their own detective attempting to solve a homicide.

-Each time period is also drawn by a different artist, giving a distinct tone to each story.

Hugh Howey’s Wool #1 (of 6)Hugh Howey's Woold #1

-A graphic novel adaptation of the New York Times bestselling novel!

-What began as a single short story has grown into a series of novellas and now a comic book adaptation.

-The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where the remnants of society live in a 100-story deep silo.  Or is it that simple?  Wool is a story of nearly constant twists and turns, leaving the reader desperate for answers.

-Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti (Jonah Hex, All-Star Western, Harley Quinn) and Jimmy Broxton (Knight and Squire) are handling the adaptation, with Darwyn Cooke on covers.

Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1Chew Warrior Chicken Poyo #1

-Everyone’s favorite secret agent chicken is back!

-The Chew guys don’t skimp on one-shots, as both John Layman and Rob Guillory are not passing writing and art duties off to fill-in creators.

-The last Poyo one shot vanished off the shelves nearly as quick as it arrived, making it a sought after collectible

-Adding to the collector’s value of this issue, Poyo crosses paths with Robert Kirkman’s Walking Dead cast, so you know that’s going to have some after-market value.

Low #1Low #1

-Another new series from Rick Remender, who after Black Science, Captain America, Uncanny Avengers, and Marvel‘s upcoming Axis miniseries, is on a creative roll!

-Basically, a Bioshock comic book series.

-Low takes place on an Earth that has been so irradiated by the explosion of our sun that humanity has moved under the ocean for protection.

-Greg Tocchini’s gorgeous painterly artwork adds another beautiful comic series to the already populated list of capably illustrated Image Comics series.

Jul 182014
 

Storm #1Storm #1

-Greg Pak, writer of Batman/Superman and Planet Hulk, jumps back to Marvel for this ongoing series.

-Acting as an ambassador for the mutant race, Storm will travel the globe encountering and overcoming evil and oppression as she goes.

-Each issue will feature a one-and-done story, each building to a larger arc.

-Victor Ibanez, a veteran of Wonder Woman, Zatanna, Swamp Thing, and Robin, joins Pak as artist on the series.

Doctor Who 10th & 11th #1 (Titan Comics)Doctor Who #1 10th 11th Titan

-August sees the return of The Doctor with the beginning of Peter Capaldi’s era, but, before that, 10 and 11 are back in the TARDIS.

-Titan Comics now owns the rights to the Doctor Who comics and begins their legacy with a dual launch of two ongoing series, one featuring David Tennant’s 10th Doctor, the other Matt Smith’s 11th Doctor.

-In the 10th Doctor series, The Doctor discovers a new companion during the Day of the Dead.

-Taking place right after the end of season five, the 11th Doctor series is written by Al Ewing, author of some great current Marvel series, including Mighty Avengers and Loki, Agent of Asgard.

Supreme Blue Rose #1Supreme Blue Rose #1

-Warren Ellis, author of Trees, Moon Knight, and Transmetropolitan, launches another new Image Comics series!

-Re-imaging a character created by Alan Moore, Ellis remakes Supreme, a Superman analog, for a new age.

-Ellis is joined by Tula Lotay, an up-and-coming artist, whose painterly, water colored style

-Underneath the surface of reality lies a secret organization that controls the parameters of the world.  They will stop at nothing to find Ethan Crane.

Avengers 100th Anniversary #1Avengers 100th Anniversary

-If you only buy one of the 100th Anniversary specials, make it this one!

-The Avengers of 2061 are drastically different than the current iteration, featuring Beta Ray Bill, Rogue, and others.

-Earth has fought off invasions, been swallowed up by the Negative Zone, and overrun by moleoids.  What will The Avengers face next?

-The true reason to pick this one-shot up is the gloriously surreal artwork by James Stoke, author and creator of Wonton Soup and Ork Stain.

Jun 132014
 

All New X-Factor v.1 tpbAll New X-Factor v.1 tpb

-Out with the old Peter David, in with the new Peter David!  Having written X-Factor for nearly a decade, David can’t walk away from the book, returning to launch an All New X-Factor!

-The only corporate sponsored X-Team out there, X-Factor has the technology and finances of Serval Industries behind them.  However, that may not be a great thing.

-Comprised of Quicksilver, Polaris (both Magneto‘s children), Danger, Warlock, and Gambit, X-Factor is a character-driven comic, to be sure.

-What is Gambit‘s secret?  And will it bring down the team?

Avengers World v.1 tpbAvengers World v.1 tpb

-Jonathan Hickman adds the Avengers World ongoing series to finish off a trifecta of Avengers comics, each connecting into the other.

-World sees The Avengers going toe-to-toe with A.I.M., a secret organization of science terrorists who have declared themselves a separate nation, across the globe.

-Each issue is character-centric, with Hickman fleshing out his extensive Avengers cast while giving the reader insight into their personal conflicts.

-Oh, and Shang-Chi fights an evil ninja on top of a dragon.  ’Nuff said.

Velvet v.1 tpbVelvet v.1 tpb

-James Bond fans should take a look at Velvet.

-Velvet Templeton is a Miss Moneypenny-like secretary for the British Secret Service, but have the agency’s top man is found dead, she becomes the prime suspect.  Now she must clear her name if she hopes to survive.

-Created and written by the same team that wrote Captain America:  The Winter Soldier comic storyline, the series is a great espionage book by creators who know how to write spy fiction.

-And Image Comics provides this first volume to readers for only $9.99!

Amazing X-Men v.1 tpbAmazing X-Men v.1 tpb

-Local comic writing genius, Jason Aaron, returns to the X-Men universe!

-Dead for the last five or so years, fan-favorite character Nightcrawler was due for a return to the land of the living.  This volume explains how that happens!

-Join Wolverine, Storm, Ice Man, and others as they venture into the realms of the afterlife in order to rescue their departed ally.

-Oh, and there are demon pirates standing in their way!

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

May 162014
 

Pathfinder City of Secrets #1Pathfinder City of Secrets #1 (of 6)

-Jim Zub, writer of fantasy series like Skullkickers and the previous Pathfinder series, returns to GM this miniseries.

-An entirely new Pathfinder series, City of Secrets is a fresh entry point for new readers!

-The party ventures into Magnimar, a magical city that threatens to tear the group apart!

-As with the previous series, each issue will contain a unique, playable Pathfinder encounter and foldout map.

The Movement v.1 tpb The Movement v.1 tpb

-Gail Simone’s most recent DC Comics series gains its first eight issue trade paperback, featuring an ensemble of original characters created by Simone herself!

-In Coral City, the police are out of control, harming citizens more than helping.  The Movement is out to change that.

-Local artist Freddie E. Williams III joins Simone, delivering a kinetic, action-packed artistry to the series!

-Finishing last week with issue #12, The Movement v.1 acts as the first half of a complete story that introduces exciting new characters to the DC Universe.

MPH #1MPH #1

-Mark Millar expands his control on the world of comics a little further with this ongoing series!

-Millar brings the same cynical grimness and dark humor he did with Kick-Ass, Superior, and Wanted to this Image comic!

-What happens when a gang of inner city teens discover a drug called MPH that grants them super speed?  $#*! gonna get F’ed up!

-Drawing a fine line between hero and criminal, the teens of MPH explore the how with great power, creates great corruptibility.

Black Canary and Zatanna Bloodspell HCBlack Canary and Zatanna Blood Spell HC

-Paul Dini, creator of Batman:  The Animated Series, returns to comics for this original graphic novel!

-In the works for over three years, Bloodspell is a long awaited team-up book featuring the pre-New 52 Black Canary and Zatanna.

-The incredible Joe Quinones, of FF, Captain Marvel, and The Spectacular Spider-Man fame, illustrates the entire graphic novel in his distinct, cartoony style!

-A year after infiltrating a cult of female magicians, Black Canary is haunted by their ghosts, a threat that requires the assistance of her close friend Zatanna.