Apr 112014
 

Hulk #1 ANMNHulk #1 ANMN

-Mark Waid (Daredevil, Kingdom Come) restarts the Indestructible Hulk with an entirely new direction!

-Mark Bagley of Ultimate Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, and just-about-everything-else-fame joins Waid on Hulk #1!

-At the end of the previous Hulk series, Bruce Banner was left on the edge of death, fighting his mortality as the Hulk side attempted to take control.

-Who will win out at the beginning of this series?  And how badly will they destroy the rest of the Marvel Universe?

Sinestro #1Sinestro #1

-Green Lantern‘s greatest villain gains his own ongoing series!

-Having lost his precious Yellow Lantern CORPS, his family, and his reputation, Sinestro has nothing more to lose as he goes up against Lyssa Drak, his former protege.

-Dale Eaglesham, prominent Marvel artist, has jumped ship to DC to draw this major release!

-As well, Cullen Bunn will be writing, which means you need to grab a copy so that you can bring it back on May 14th and get it signed by Bunn, when he, Jason Aaron, and Dennis Hopeless are here!

Sex Criminals v.1 tpbSex Criminals v.1 tpb

-If you’ve ever thought about pooping in your boss’ flowerpot to get revenge, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-If you’ve ever found porn in the woods, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-If you’ve ever tried the Dutch Microwave, Sex Criminals is the book for you!

-Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky have created one of the best books at Image Comics right now, largely because of its open exploration of sex and romantic relationships, but also because it stars one of the most realistic female characters in comics today!

Translucid #1 (of 6)Translucid #1

-Claudio Sanchez, lead singer and songwriter of Coheed and Cambria, returns to comics this week!

-Never before has Sanchez ventured into the realm of superhero comics. . .until now!

-BOOM! Studios continues to pair Sanchez with great, young artists, and this time has assigned Daniel Bayliss to bring his ideas to fruition.

-If you’ve read Key of ZKill Audio, and the Amory Wars comics, then Translucid is what you need to complete your library!

Apr 052014
 

A Marvel writer trifecta has been generous enough to coordinate their schedules for a signing at Pulp on May 14th! Each author has recently released an All New Marvel NOW series, so be sure to bring your issues to get signed. Also be sure to bring in any back issues or TPBs these guys have worked on previously. We’ve included a list of notable series by these authors below as a reminder:

Jason Aaron: Ghost Rider, Wolverine, Avengers vs. X-Men, Wolverine & the X-Men, Scalped, Thanos Rising, The Other Side, Thor God of Thunder, and Original Sin.

Cullen Bunn: Helheim, Sixth Gun, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Deadpool Killustrated, Deadpool Kills Deadpool, Night of the Living Deadpool, The Fearless Defenders, Deadpool vs. Carnage, Sinestro, and Magneto.

Dennis Hopeless: Gearhead, Lovestruck, X-Men: Season One, Legion of Monsters, The Answer, Avengers Arena, Cable and X-Force, and Avengers Undercover.

Mar 212014
 

Iron Patriot #1

-The industry’s weirdest, hallucinogenic writer, Ales Kot, takes over an ongoing series starring former War Machine, James Rhodes.

-If you picked up a copy of Secret Avengers #1 a couple weeks ago, you know Kot delivers on the kinetic action beats, quirky comedy, and unusual situations.

-Rhodes is forced to go up against a new villain that is threatening his family.

-Oh, and eventually James Rhodes dies. . .or, at least, that’s what the solicits say.

Real Heroes #1

-Bryan Hitch, artist of The Ultimates and America’s Got Powers, returns to Image for another genre deconstructing series!

-Hitch’s ultra-realistic style is put to the test with a superhero book set in the real world!

-A real world superhero unlike any other, Real Heroes stars the world’s highest-paid actors, all of which have just starred in the blockbuster superhero film The Olympians.

-Fiction and fact blur together as these celebrities are launched into the fantasy world of their film and forced to survive against an alien army.

Silver Surfer #1

-Dan Slott, mastermind behind The Superior Spider-Man, takes his skills to the stars in this cosmic Marvel title!

-Galactus‘ former Herald roams the universe, showing off all corners of the cosmos to his young female companion.

-Mike Allred (FF, X-Statix, iZombie) enhances the zany tone of this space adventure with his retro-esque pencils and colors!

-Fans of Doctor Who should give issue one a try, as Slott has openly stated that he’s copying the episodic nature and companion-based adventure of the famous television series.

All New Ghost Rider #1

-Robbie Reyes is the All New Ghost Rider!

-A street racing teen from the wrong side of the tracks, Robbie inherents the powers of the infamous Spirit of Vengeance!

-Tradd Moore, artist for the violent Image hit The Strange Talent of Luther Strode,

-Dennis Hopeless, local author, former Pulp Fiction employee, and current writer of Avengers Undercover, endorsed this very issue as a great read that last Wednesday!

Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Mar 072014
 

Secret Avengers #1

-The best spy book currently being written is Ales Kot’s Zero from Image, which makes him the absolutely perfect author to take the reins on Marvel’s premier spy book, Secret Avengers.

-Features a team of Marvel movie characters, like Nick Fury, Agent Coulson, Hawkeye, and Black Widow, plus the newly added Spider-Woman!

-How will this team of secret agents stop defunct S.H.I.E.L.D. satellites from falling to the Earth?

-Kot excels at weird, weird storytelling alongside concise action and startling cliffhangers.  Expect to be surprised by the end of issue one.

Captain Marvel #1 (of 6)

-If you, like me, missed the boat on this cult favorite series, now’s your second chance.

-This series is still written by the woman that made Captain Marvel what she is today, Kelly Sue DeConnick!

-Carol Danvers heads off into space during the first arc, facing the implosion of galactic war!

-Support female characters and writers in comics by picking up issue one!

Stray Bullets: The Killers #1

-One of the most acclaimed crime serials in all of comics returns from Image Comics!

-David Lapham (whose name you HAVE heard), writer of Crossed, Young Liars, Age of Apocalypse, and tons more, returns to the series he created!

-Noir to the bone, Stray Bullets features single issue stories that link together over the course of many issues (think 100 Bullets).

-In issue one, a father and son commit a hit-and-run only to find out a stranger witnessed the crime.  To what twisted lengths will they go to avoid being caught?

Avengers Undercover #1

-Dennis Hopeless returns to the characters of Avengers Arena for, in television terms, a second season!

-Basically, 21 Jump Street in the Marvel Universe.

-Those who survived the arena want revenge against the man that put them there, Arcade, but he’s gone underground in the safety of a supervillain city.  Now these heroes have to pretend to be villains in order to catch him.  Will some slip a little too far?  And what happens when they catch up?

-With Planet Con coming up next weekend and the fact that Dennis will be attending, you should totally pick up the super rare variant cover for this issue and get it signed by him!