Jun 172016

Civil War II Choosing SidesCivil War II Choosing Sides #1 (of 6)

-The Civil War II tie-in miniseries are heating up with this third release!

-Focusing on the split in ideologies that initiates the Civil War event, Choosing Sides will present two stories from each side of the argument.

-Artist Declan Shalvey (Moon Knight) will not only be providing artwork for portions of the miniseries, but also handling writing duties.

-Featuring an ensemble cast, Choosing Sides will focus on characters like Nick Fury, Black Widow, The Punisher, Moon Knight, and other “street level” or SHIELD related heroes.

James Bond v.1 HC “Vargr”James Bond 007 HC

-Dynamite‘s best ongoing series receives its first collection!

-Comic veteran Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan, Planetary, Moon Knight, Nextwave, Astonishing X-Men) is killing it on this series, capturing the perfect blend of Ian Fleming’s novel Bond and the coldness of the Daniel Craig films.

-After enacting grisly revenge for the death of another 00 agent, Bond is assigned to investigate a technology corporation who appears to have ties to a devastating street drug.

-Working off of Ellis’ minimalist scripts, artist Jason Masters delivers panel layouts and action sequences that are gorgeously paced and inventively illustrated.

Deadpool vs GambitDeadpool vs. Gambit #1 (of 5)

-Two of the most nineties Marvel superheroes out there join forces in this five issue miniseries.

-Comedic writing duo, Ben Acker and Ben Blacker (Thunderbolts, Thrilling Adventure Hour), return to Marvel to bring the funny to this miniseries.

-Deadpool vs. Gambit will unveil an previously unknown history between the characters!

-When the anti-heroes have to pull a heist together things go terribly wrong, leading to them eventually having to sling hamburgers in a dinner together. . .what?

Star Wars The Force Awakens #1 (of 5)Star Wars The Force Awakens Adaptation

-You’ve seen the film a hundred times.  Now read the Marvel comic adaptation!

-Broken up over five issues, this adaptation covers the events of the film plus maybe a few new scenes.

-A new voice on the Marvel scene, Chuck Wendig (Hyperion) handles writing duties here.

-With beautiful variant covers by Esad Ribic, Joe Quesada, and John Cassaday, the interiors will be equally great by veteran artist, Luke Ross.

Feb 262016

Predator Life and DeathPredator Life and Death #1 (of 4)

-Beloved author of the Warhammer 40K novels and a great Guardians of the Galaxy run, Dan Abnett steps into the Alien/Predator/Prometheus universe.

-The newest miniseries in Dark Horse‘s long running, popular Predator releases.

-Life and Death sees a band of Colonial Marines sent to a barren planet to retrieve a horse-shoe shaped ship by the Weyland-Yutani corporation.

-Of course, that mission isn’t going to go so well when a pack of Predators is on the hunt.

Amazing Spider-Man and Silk Spiderfly Effect #1 (of 4)Amazing Spider-Man Silk Spidefly Effect

-You thought one series starring Silk was enough, but you were wrong!

-Robbie Thompson, co-creator of Supernatural and writer of the Silk ongoing series, is also helming this four issue miniseries.

-If you’ve ever wanted to see the lovechild of Back to the Future and Spider-Man, Spiderfly Effect is that very thing!

-Silk and Spider-Man are sent back in time before they gained their powers, an accident that only causes them to inadvertently stop themselves from gaining said powers.

DisciplineDiscipline #1

-Having written Spider-Man, X-Men, Detective Comics, and nearly every other major comic series out there, Peter Milligan (oh, also Red Lanterns) launches a new ongoing Image series.

-Sex, sex, sex!  That usually gets everyone’s attention.  Discipline blends romance comics and sexual horror for a controversial series!

-Fans of Harrow County, Colder, and Sex Criminals need to check this series out!

-Melissa has lost the connection she had with her husband, which leads her to an illicit affair with another man.  However, man may not be the accurate descriptor, as he seems rather demonic.

Black Widow #1Black Widow

-Mark Waid and Chris Samnee, the team behind the acclaimed Daredevil run, rejoin for this new series!

-Chris Samnee is a masterful artist who is capable of experimenting with format and style in captivating ways.

-Natasha has spent her whole career gathering secrets, as well as making some.  When those get out in the open, she has to go on the lamb from the government she once served.

-Like the plot of Captain America:  Winter Soldier, but without that dull Steve Rogers dragging things down.

Oct 242014

Rasputin #1Rasputin #1

-Local comic author, Alex Grecian, launches a new ongoing series at Image Comics!

-Riding high on the popularity of his novel, The Yard, Grecian returns to comics to write this supernatural account of actual history.

-The series begins with Rasputin’s death at the hands of revolutionaries, then works back into the madman’s younger days.

-Grecian is joined by frequent collaborator and popular artist, Riley Rossmo (Bedlam, Cowboy Ninja Viking, Green Wake).

Deathlok #1Deathlok #1

-The fan favorite cyborg from Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. gains his own ongoing series!

-Unbeknownst to him, Doctor Henry Hayes is secretly activated as Deathlok when he ventures beyond American borders.  Instead of healing ill citizens like he intends to, he ends up committing top secret assassinations.

-Nathan Edmondson, whose skills with espionage narratives have served him well on the Punisher and Black Widow series.

-Skottie Young also provides another super cute Baby Variant cover for this series, complete with super soaker guns in place of Deathlok‘s pistols.

Axis Revoltuions #1Axis Revolutions #1 (of 4)

-Another major tie-in miniseries for Marvel’s Axis event!

-The Axis equivalent of the Avengers vs. X-Men Versus miniseries was to that event.  Basically, all fights all the time.

-Each of the four issues will feature two separate stories (that take place inside the events of the main Axis miniseries), written and illustrated by different creators.

-The first issue of Axis Revolutions will feature a story written by Pulp Fiction’s own Dennis Hopeless!

Marvel 75th Anniversary one-shotMarvel 75th Anniversary #1

-Timely Comics, who eventually became Marvel Comics, began publication in 1939, seventy-five years ago!

-To celebrate, Marvel is releasing this over-sized, single anthology that contains stories by veteran comic writers and artists.

-The writers included in the issue are James Robinson, Bruce Timm, Brian Michael Bendis, Tom DeFalco, and Len Wein.

-Joining writers above are artists such as Francesco Francavilla, Bruce Timm, Mike Deodato, Chris Samnee, and Joe Quinones.

Apr 182014

Elektra #1 ANMNElektra #1 ANMN

-Hot on the heels of the popular female assassin book, Black Widow, comes an ongoing series for Marvel‘s premiere lady killer.

-Now that DC has scared Haden Blackman off of Batwoman, he’s crossed the street to Marvel to helm this series.

-Michael Del delivers a frenetic, painterly style on covers and interiors, perfect for a fluid assassin like Elektra.

-In the first arc, Elektra attempts to change who she is, but will have to ward off monsters and other top assassins to do so.

24 #124 #1

-Just in time for Jack Bauer’s return to television, IDW has launched a new 24 ongoing series!

-Fill in the time between the end of the last season and Live Another Day with this series.

-Ed Brisson has been accumulating a number of critically acclaimed series of late, including Sheltered, Comeback, and The Field, and now brings his A-game to this property.

-Brisson is joined on art duties by industry veteran Michael Gaydos, whose moody style brought crime and spy series, like Alias, to life.

Original Sin #0Original Sin #0

-Marvel‘s next big summer event begins here!

-Someone wants Uatu the Watcher dead for something he’s seen.  This prequel sets up what they may be and offers Uatu‘s last will and testament as he speaks with Nova.

-Though Jason Aaron isn’t writing this introductory issue, one of the only writers good enough to replace him, Mark Waid, is helming the issue.

-Jim Cheung, as he did with last year’s Infinity, provides art for this introductory issue.

Justice League United #0Justice League United #0

-Though DC has changed the title of this book, we all still know, at its heart, it is Justice League Canada.

-Jeff Lemire may have concluded his popular Animal Man series, but Buddy Baker is sticking around for this team book.  He’s bringing along Star Girl, Martian Manhunter, Supergirl, Green Arrow, Adam Strange, and Hawkman.

-After Forever Evil leaves the DC universe in tatters, Adam Strange is left to assemble a rag-tag band of heroes to help him defend the galaxy.

-Lemire promises to bring the heart and character of the Animal Man series and the galactic mystery and grandeur of Trillium!

Mar 072014

Secret Avengers #1

-The best spy book currently being written is Ales Kot’s Zero from Image, which makes him the absolutely perfect author to take the reins on Marvel’s premier spy book, Secret Avengers.

-Features a team of Marvel movie characters, like Nick Fury, Agent Coulson, Hawkeye, and Black Widow, plus the newly added Spider-Woman!

-How will this team of secret agents stop defunct S.H.I.E.L.D. satellites from falling to the Earth?

-Kot excels at weird, weird storytelling alongside concise action and startling cliffhangers.  Expect to be surprised by the end of issue one.

Captain Marvel #1 (of 6)

-If you, like me, missed the boat on this cult favorite series, now’s your second chance.

-This series is still written by the woman that made Captain Marvel what she is today, Kelly Sue DeConnick!

-Carol Danvers heads off into space during the first arc, facing the implosion of galactic war!

-Support female characters and writers in comics by picking up issue one!

Stray Bullets: The Killers #1

-One of the most acclaimed crime serials in all of comics returns from Image Comics!

-David Lapham (whose name you HAVE heard), writer of Crossed, Young Liars, Age of Apocalypse, and tons more, returns to the series he created!

-Noir to the bone, Stray Bullets features single issue stories that link together over the course of many issues (think 100 Bullets).

-In issue one, a father and son commit a hit-and-run only to find out a stranger witnessed the crime.  To what twisted lengths will they go to avoid being caught?

Avengers Undercover #1

-Dennis Hopeless returns to the characters of Avengers Arena for, in television terms, a second season!

-Basically, 21 Jump Street in the Marvel Universe.

-Those who survived the arena want revenge against the man that put them there, Arcade, but he’s gone underground in the safety of a supervillain city.  Now these heroes have to pretend to be villains in order to catch him.  Will some slip a little too far?  And what happens when they catch up?

-With Planet Con coming up next weekend and the fact that Dennis will be attending, you should totally pick up the super rare variant cover for this issue and get it signed by him!