Nov 202015
 

RingsideRingside #1

-Let’s get ready to rumble!  Ringside is Image Comics first ongoing series about the ins and outs of professional wrestling.

-Joe Keatinge, writer of Hell Yeah, Shutter, and Batman Incorporated, has dug into the actual world of pro-wrestling to find his inspiration.

-Each issue will feature the perspective of a different wrestler as they struggle to perform and struggle with real life.

-Separate stories will collide in later issues as all the wrestlers come together to fight against each other.

Venom Space Knight #1Venom Space Knight

-One of two unique series beginning from Marvel this week!

-Flash Thompson has been through a lot during his tenure wearing the Venom symbiote, but now he’s cruising the galaxy stopping bad aliens.

-Having recently taken a hiatus from comic art, Ariel Olivetti is back to illustrate the interiors of this series with his gorgeous painted style.

-After establishing his talents on Silk (not to mention the television series, Supernatural) Robbie Thompson lends his concise, snarky, character-driven talent to another series.

Moon Girl and Devil DinosaurMoon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1

-Fans of Marvel‘s recent hits Squirrel Girl and Ms. Marvel must pick up this similarly styled series!

-Up-and-coming independent creative team, Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclare, graduate to the big leagues with this quirky comic.

-Suitable for younger, teen readers, Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur is a perfect entry point to the Marvel Universe for newly initiated comic fans.

-You’re a preteen super genius.  Your new best friend is a t-rex.  And you’ve got to defeat one of New York’s newest supervillains.  Go!

Dark Knight III:  The Master Race #1 (of 8)Dark Knight III The Master Race

-Over a decade since The Dark Knight Strikes Again, Frank Miller returns to write the third part of his Dark Knight Returns trilogy.

-Joining Miller on writing duties is acclaimed comic veteran Brian Azzarello (Before Watchmen Comedian & Rorschach, Wonder Woman, Batman).

-Each issue of this eight issue miniseries will feature a full main story plus a mini-comic back-up bound into the issue.  Issue one’s mini-comic will be fully written and illustrated by Frank Miller.

-He’s beaten death, retirement, and old age, now the Batman of Miller’s iconic The Dark Knight Returns is back to set loose the Kryptonian population of the Bottle City of Kandor.  This act of revolution gains him unwanted attention from his old sparing buddy, Superman, as well as the rest of the government.

May 302014
 

Before Watchmen Minutemen Silk Spectre tpbBefore Watchmen Minutemen/Silk Spectre TPB

-One of the all time best comic books continues in the first collection of the Before Watchmen prequel miniseries.

-Darwyn Cooke, the creator of The New Frontier and adapter of the Parker novels, illustrates and writes the Minutemen series, telling the tale of the team that came before The Watchmen.

-Cooke also joins with Amanda Conner, cover artist and co-writer of Harley Quinn, for the Silk Spectre miniseries.

-The latter miniseries features Silk Spectre in a story that is reminiscent of Archie comics if written by someone taking acid.

Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse #1 (of 6)Tiny Titans Return to the Treehouse

-DC‘s most popular young readers series is back for six issues!

-Art Baltazar and Franco deliver family friendly and funny comic strips about the young heroes of the DC Universe in the Tiny Titans series, a perfect comic book starting point for any young child.

-Fans of Calvin and Hobbs should check out the Tiny Titans comics if you already haven’t.

-Issue #1 sees the team discovering that their treehouse has gone missing.  Who took it and will they get it back?  Find out in the first startling issue!

Big Trouble in Little China #1Big Trouble in Little China #1

-Jack Burton is back, baby!

-Eric Powell, creator of The Goon, returns to the world of John Carpenter’s cult favorite action comedy.

-The Pork Chop Express is housing a stowaway and Jack Burton must fight off demons at his wedding!

-All your favorite characters from the original film are back for a completely new adventure!

Afterlife with Archie v.1 tpbAfterlife with Archie v.1 tpb

-A dark, adult Archie book like you’ve never read before.

-When Sabrina the Teenage Witch revives Jughead‘s dog, Hot Dog, from the dead, she accidentally unleashes an army of zombies on Riverdale.

-Moody, expressionistic artist extraordinaire, Francesco Francavilla illustrates the series, delivering a contemplative story that surpasses Archie expectations.

-Comic stores are receiving this first collection a week before bookstores, so come grab a copy early!

Jul 132013
 

The Mysterious Strangers #1-2

1. If Charlie’s Angels, The Avengers (BBC version), and The Prisoner conceived a baby on a drunken night, nine months later The Mysterious Strangers would pop out!

2. You may have picked up the ENTIRE FIRST ISSUE of this series on Free Comic Book Day, but for those who didn’t issue #1 is being released again, along with issue #2.

3. If you didn’t pick up the issue, the book is a sixties period piece starring a team of adventures possessing a variety of unique powers control by their tattooed hands.

4. Chris Roberson has been on a roll lately with his pulpy runs on Masks and The Shadow, which makes him the perfect man to write a series so steeped in retro action!

Batman ’66 #1

1. HOLY BATUSI, BATMAN!!!!!!!

2. Speaking of retro action, the first original content starring the cast of the famous camp Batman television series of the 1960s, Batman ’66 celebrates the tradition of this wacky show!

3. Writer Jeff Parker (Dark Avengers, Agents of Atlas) brings his years and years of experience writing Golden Age style characters and story arcs to this nostalgic, humorous series.

4. All the punny insanity that you’ve come to expect from The Camp Crusader, Batman ’66 becomes a rare comedy series on a rack filled with dark, brooding characters.

Number Cruncher #1

1. Just your average undead archangel working for The Divine Calculator by bringing souls into the afterlife, The Number Cruncher is about to run into a snag.

2. If you think X-Men Legacy and X-Club are weird beyond belief (but in a good way), wait until you read Si Spurrier’s Number Cruncher.

3. Originally written for 2000 A.D., this series brims with dark, intelligent surrealism and a dabble of humor, too.

4. Spurrier may bring the unusual to his Marvel series, but it’s nothing compared to his unleashed talents on independent titles like Six Gun Gorilla and Number Cruncher.

Red Sonja #1

1. Cheesecake becomes girl power in the relaunched, Red Sonja #1!

2. Written by the comic industry’s ambassador for female creators, Gail Simone, Red Sonja finally receives the humanistic tone she has deserved for so long from a writer that isn’t a sleazy dude!

3. Storywise, Sonja is on a doomed quest, leading a failing army, all in order to pay back a debt that may cost her life.

4. To enhance the fem power of the series, Dynamite has assembled an impressive array of female talent to illustrated six different covers!  These artists include Amanda Conner (Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre), Fiona Staples (Saga), Jenny Frison (Revival covers), and more!

Aug 112012
 

Hrrrmmmm.

When the gutters fill with the dirty, filthy dross of bad comic writing, you’ll look up and you’ll see Before Watchmen Rorschach. And you’ll say, “yes”.
That’s right, saving the best for (almost) last, the Rorschach miniseries begins this week. Written by gritty crime writer Brian Azzarello (Wonder Woman, 100 Bullets) and drawn by extreme realist Lee Bermejo (Joker), this is the beginning of four grimy, dark, well-written issues. And if you want to really get in the insane spirit of the ink blotted vigilante, pick up one of the Rorschach t-shirts, also coming in this Wednesday.

AND if you haven’t been reading any of the Before Watchmen books,

your are missing out on some of the best comics on the shelves right now. But you won’t have to miss out for much longer, because Pulp has restocked copies of both the first and second issues of each series.

Speaking of things that are black and white, the newest edition to the Batman Black & White line of statues comes out this week, too. If you’re not familiar, these statues are based off famous comic artist’s renditions of the caped crusader, struck in monochromatic tones, and placed on Bat-symbol bases. Using Darwyn Cooke’s version of the Dark Knight, this month’s statue brims with 50′s nostalgia.

Never let it be said that writers are done experimenting with the comics medium. The Red Diary is a graphic novel shipping this Wednesday with a unique twist. In fact, twist is exactly the right word for it, as readers are given the original story, as well as a variant story, simply by flipping the book. Steven T. Seagle and Teddy Kristiansen have written two versions of the same story, about art forgery during WWII, and presented both of them here, each by way of a minimalist painterly art style. For those with heightened Indy taste buds, this is a graphic experience to sink your teeth into.

Jul 072012
 

Darwyn Cooke is easily one of the most talented creators working in comics today, as you’ll know if you’ve read the first issue of Minutemen (number two comes out Wednesday, by the way). Over the last three years, Cooke has been chipping away at a passion project he’s born to write and draw, that being the crime novels of Richard Stark. Set in the 50′s, these novels, both graphic and prose, were the Thief of Thieves way before Thief of Thieves as well as Mad Men before it became popular. Both style and grit mixed together, The Score is the most recent novel Cooke is adapting for the comic medium. In this story, Parker, a veteran thief, pulls together a band of con men and criminals to pull the job of a lifetime: rob an entire town. Cooke loves these stories and puts as much craft and effort into retelling them as Stark did creating them.

Ranking up there with Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, The Crow gets asked about more than any other book that is currently (and consistently) not in print. But for those who’ve been gasping for a Crow fix, IDW has a new comic series coming out this Wednesday. Following a young Japanese student who is possessed by the vengeance seeking spirit, this new series is written by one of the screenwriters of the cult classic Crow film.

Maybe you partake in some recreational, um, substances from time to time. Maybe you fight the man with your daily lifestyle. Maybe you hate the way your parents treat you. Whatever rebellious spirit burns inside you, the Wild Children one shot from Image Comics will feed the flame. Written by new comer Ales Kot and drawn by the ever present Riley Rossmo (Rebel Blood, Green Wake, Cowboy Ninja Viking), this extra hefty issue is the one to add to your pile this week. Here’s a review from comic review website Talking Comics to entice you further. When a comic earns a quote from legendary hermit Alan Moore, you know it’s good.

Not the zombie story your used to, Revival, from Image Comics, is sure to be the new sensation this week (if people can find it in the sea of Walking Dead #100 variants). Written by Tim Seeley (of cult favorite horror book Hack/Slash) and drawn by Mike Norton (of Battlepug, which is at the store this very moment), Revival is set in a rural community who find their dead rising from the ground, not as mindless cannibals but as they were before they passed. When a murder occurs, both living and dead become suspects. This series has been hyped as a possible “next Walking Dead” so be sure to nab a copy.