Apr 032015
 

Savior #1Savior #1

-Todd McFarlane, co-founder of Image Comics and creator of Spawn, returns to launch an entirely new series!

-McFarlane’s partner in launching this ongoing series is painterly artist extraordinaire, Clayton Crain (Carnage USA, X-Force, Rai)!

-Savior asks the question, “How would the real world react to a superpowered person showing up?”  No costume.  No code name.  Most view him as the second coming of Christ.  But is he a savior or a destroyer?

-Is Savior the next hit Image comic?  The next Walking Dead?  You only have to pay $2.99 to find out!

Kaijumax #1Kaijumax

-Think of a prison.  Now think of that prison, but with the human prisoners replaced with giant, Godzilla-like creatures.

-Zander Cannon, a frequent inker and illustrator on Alan Moore’s Top 10, will be writing and drawing this Oni Press series!

-You know the standard prison yard beat down?  Well, in Kaijumax that plays more like the city destroying fights between Mothra, Godzilla, and Rodan!

-Also, expect to see some legally distinct, but familiar monster faces mixed in with Cannon’s own designs!

Max Ridge First FlightMax Ride: First Flight #1 (of 5)

-Following in the footsteps of Marvel‘s successful and respected adaptations of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower and The Stand, the publisher turns its talents toward James Patterson’s young readers series of novels!

-Marguerite Bennett (Earth 2 World’s End, Lois Lane, Batman, A-Force) will be adapting Patterson’s work!

-Max and her peers have been experimented on by an evil corporation, who have spliced their DNA with that of birds.  These teens break free, however, and take wing to escape the corporation’s Erasers!

-After the popularity of the action figure Star Wars variant covers, Marvel is also releasing an action figure variant for issue #1 of Max Ride.  Unlike Star Wars, though, these will be sold at cover price!

DC Convergence Week 1Convergence Nightwing Oracle

-DC‘s reality spanning event begins in earnest this Wednesday!

-If you didn’t pick up Convergence #0 last week, it kicked off the backbone miniseries for the event, seeing Brainiac slam various alternate realities together so they can fight to the death.

-Each of the other series in this Convergence event will be two issues long, spanning from April to May.

-Launching this week are Atom, Batgirl, Batman & Robin, Harley Quinn, Justice League, Nightwing Oracle, Question, Speed Force, Superman, and Titans!

Nov 282014
 

Wolf Moon #1Wolf Moon #1 (of 6)

-Two Missouri comic creators join forces for this new horror miniseries from DC!

-St. Louis’ Cullen Bunn, writer of Sixth Gun, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Sinestro, and Helheim, authors the miniseries!

-Kansas City’s own Jeremy Haun lends his moody pencils to the comic’s interior pages!

-Bunn and Haun blend together a werewolf and revenge stories for a uniquely violent and vengeful tale.

Secret Six #1Secret Six #1

-Gail Simone returns to the series that helped to make her name in the industry!

-Similar to the Suicide Squad, the Secret Six are a covert, underground team of lower rent supervillains who deal in the weird, mysterious corners of the DC Universe.

-Joining Simone is comic artist veteran Ken Lashley, who has previously lent his pencils to the New 52 Superman:  Doomed and Batman/Superman series.

-Catman returns to the DC Universe!

Cross One Hundred +100Crossed + 100 #1 (of 6)

-Alan Moore (Watchmen, V for Vendetta, From Hell) returns to Avatar for a new Crossed miniseries event!

-The legendary comic book writer enters into the twisted post-apocalyptic world created by Garth Ennis for the first time!

-Set one hundred years into the future of the Crossed outbreak, Crossed +100 follows a young girl who is researching the original disease (as it has long been wiped out) only discover a pack of Crossed still alive!

-No previous knowledge of the Crossed storyline is necessary to read this miniseries!

Angela Asgard’s Assassin #1Angela Asgard's Assassin

-Revealed as Thor‘s sister, Neil Gaiman’s Angela is on a mission to discover her origins!

-Raised in Heaven, the tenth realm, Angela has hated Asgard her entire life, but now it has become her home.  She travels across the tens realms at the behest of Odin, slaying he needs slayed.

-Kieron Gillen (Journey into Mystery, Wicked and Divine, Young Avengers) and Marguerite Bennett (Lois Lane, Earth 2 World’s End, Batman) team up for writing duties on the series!

-The art for the series is also a dual effort, featuring the combined talents of Phil Jimenez and Stephanie Hans!

Jul 182014
 

Storm #1Storm #1

-Greg Pak, writer of Batman/Superman and Planet Hulk, jumps back to Marvel for this ongoing series.

-Acting as an ambassador for the mutant race, Storm will travel the globe encountering and overcoming evil and oppression as she goes.

-Each issue will feature a one-and-done story, each building to a larger arc.

-Victor Ibanez, a veteran of Wonder Woman, Zatanna, Swamp Thing, and Robin, joins Pak as artist on the series.

Doctor Who 10th & 11th #1 (Titan Comics)Doctor Who #1 10th 11th Titan

-August sees the return of The Doctor with the beginning of Peter Capaldi’s era, but, before that, 10 and 11 are back in the TARDIS.

-Titan Comics now owns the rights to the Doctor Who comics and begins their legacy with a dual launch of two ongoing series, one featuring David Tennant’s 10th Doctor, the other Matt Smith’s 11th Doctor.

-In the 10th Doctor series, The Doctor discovers a new companion during the Day of the Dead.

-Taking place right after the end of season five, the 11th Doctor series is written by Al Ewing, author of some great current Marvel series, including Mighty Avengers and Loki, Agent of Asgard.

Supreme Blue Rose #1Supreme Blue Rose #1

-Warren Ellis, author of Trees, Moon Knight, and Transmetropolitan, launches another new Image Comics series!

-Re-imaging a character created by Alan Moore, Ellis remakes Supreme, a Superman analog, for a new age.

-Ellis is joined by Tula Lotay, an up-and-coming artist, whose painterly, water colored style

-Underneath the surface of reality lies a secret organization that controls the parameters of the world.  They will stop at nothing to find Ethan Crane.

Avengers 100th Anniversary #1Avengers 100th Anniversary

-If you only buy one of the 100th Anniversary specials, make it this one!

-The Avengers of 2061 are drastically different than the current iteration, featuring Beta Ray Bill, Rogue, and others.

-Earth has fought off invasions, been swallowed up by the Negative Zone, and overrun by moleoids.  What will The Avengers face next?

-The true reason to pick this one-shot up is the gloriously surreal artwork by James Stoke, author and creator of Wonton Soup and Ork Stain.

Mar 142014
 

Nemo Roses of Berlin HC

-Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil continue weaving their extended League of Extraordinary Gentlemen epic!

-Follow’s up Nemo Heart of Ice as a solo adventure featuring Captain Nemo’s daughter, the current captain of the Nautilus.

-In this graphic novel adventure, Nemo’s daughter must adventure to Berlin to save those she loves during the thick of World War II.

-In Berlin, Nemo must face off with the German equivalent of the British League!

Sovereign #1

-Chris Roberson lends his talents for epic adventure (Memorial, iZombie, Masks) to this new fantasy series from Image Comics!

-Gods, demons, ghosts, and other mystical creatures have been absent from the world of Sovereign for centuries…until now!

-A pair of traveling executioners wonder straight into the catastrophe of these returning creatures, left with their swords and wits to defend themselves!

-Fans of Skullkickers, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and any other fantasy series apply within!

Rush Clockwork Angels #1

-Prog rock god Neil Peart joins with BOOM! Entertainment to adapt RUSH‘s Clockwork Angels album into a comic book miniseries event!

-Popular novelist Kevin J. Anderson joins Peart in telling his tale!

-Owen Hardy has been oppressed by the Watchmaker his whole life.  Well, no more.

-Whether you’re a fan of RUSH or simply a steampunk fanatic, Clockwork Angels is worth a look!

Green Arrow v.4 tpb “The Killing Machine”

-Can’t get enough of the television show Arrow?  This volume of Green Arrow reads just like a series of long-lost episodes with a bigger budget than the show.

-Jeff Lemire breathes new life into the New 52 version of Green Arrow with this arc, which was his first on the book.

-Breaking the character down to his basics, Lemire erases all of Oliver’s safety net, pitting him against a new opponent with none of his usual resources.

-Lemire is joined Andrea Sorrentino, one of the best artists in the business, visualizing Green Arrow‘s abilities and battles in a psychedelic, kinetic aesthetic that is nothing like any previous Green Arrow book.

Oct 262013
 

Forever Evil A.R.G.U.S. #1 (of 6)

-With the Crime Syndicate set loose on Earth, the Teen Titans shot into the future, and the Justice Leagues off the grid, it’s up to the DC-equivalent of S.H.I.E.L.D. to take on a horde of villains descending on their facility!

-Sterling Gates (Killer Frost, Supergirl), and understudy of Geoff Johns, crafts this intense six issue miniseries.

-Amanda Waller and Steve Trevor may have run Suicide Squads and Justice Leagues, but can they tactically out-maneuver the likes of Cheetah, Scarecrow, and Killer Frost?

-So far Forever Evil has been churning on all cylinders, don’t miss out on another valuable tie-in for this major event!

Damian Son of Batman #1 (of 4)

-Spinning out of Grant Morrison’s epic, near decade long run of Batman is this miniseries about Batman‘s only child!

-Set in an alternate future, Damian must rise to his father’s mantel after a set of tragic events.

-Son of Joe Kubert, and legendary artist in his own right, Andy Kubert is on both writing and artist duties for this miniseries, visually linking it back to Morrison’s famous future Damian issues.

-While he’s currently dead in the main DC universe, Son of Batman is a chance for fans of the most sarcastic, violent Robin to get their fix.

Planetoid v.1 tpb

-Fans of Brandon Graham’s Prophet take notice!

-A minimal survival story about a stranded soldier on a planet made entirely of discarded, robotic junk, Planetoid is a true underrated Image Comics miniseries from last year.

-Written, illustrated, and lettered solely by Ken Garing, this six issue miniseries is a testament to the creator-owned comic!

-A full story in a single volume!

Sandman Overture #1 (of 6)

-Neil Gaiman returns to the series that made his name!

-A bi-monthly event, Sandman Overture is a prequel to the epic Vertigo Sandman series that is considered one of the best comics of all time!

-For an event like this, DC could not skimp on the artist, thus enter J.H. Williams III, artist of Alan Moore’s Promethea, Batwoman, and Batman!  William’s unmatched panel layouts and shifting stylistics are the perfect match to the heady story telling of Gaiman.

-Starting at the beginning of time and ending with Morbius’ capture (where Sandman #1 picks up), Overture is the landmark return to form for Gaiman, twenty five years in the making.